We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halzephron Inn

Halzephron Inn
Gunwalloe, Helston TR12 7QB, England
+44 (0)1326 240406
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 90 Restaurants in Helston
Price range: $76 - $76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food - poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Beef Wellington was well cooked and mussels were really nice. Service was a let down. Ordered drinks with a young male waiter. Never turned up yet it was on my bill at the end. Twice waitresses asked us if we ordered food which was a bit disconcerting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    17
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The food was very ordinary, and expensive for what it was. Took a long time to get served. Bit off the beaten track. There is much better in the area and easier to get to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Sat out the front in the evening sun, looking at the wonderful view . Quite area busy pub. I had sweet potatoe and leek crumble, with good vegitables, and my husband had fish. Both meals were very nice and tasty. Most meals seemed to be over the £10.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Halzephron Inn was strongly recommended.Sadly fell well below expectation.First visit fish and chips were good,my partners fresh crab was virtually inedible.
Second visit my fish and chips were poor, chips were soggy and clearly been cooked earlier,the fish was not fresh and the batter over cooked,also had to return a pint of Beer which was flat and tasted like vinegar.Having mentioned the poor quality of the food,an apology was not forthcoming.
The place was also grossly under staffed.
Will not be returning to the Halzephron Inn

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Halzephron - 'The Cliffs of Hell'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Whilst out exploring the Lizard, with a female friend, we spotted this pub, and were please to note how many patrons were dining there.

We both selected meals from the daily specials, and neither of us were disappointed with the food which was fresh and tasty, the staff were smart and professional, the pub is a little dated, but I expect they are so busy they don't have time for refurbishment!

It was a very pleasant dining experience, and I shall definately be revisiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halzephron Inn also viewed

 

Been to Halzephron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halzephron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.