We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merther Uny Farm

Merther Uny Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merther Uny Farm
Save
You added Merther Uny Farm to your Saves list
Wendron, Helston TR13 0NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 35 Helston B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A fabulous stay in this beautiful B and B in the most stunning location. The hosts John and Gill have thought of everything. The rooms are tasteful and comfortable with great views. Breakfast was delicious! The location is ideal for visiting many local places of interest. We will definitely be returning- highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A beautiful, clean and extremely friendly B & B. Breakfasts were vast and tasty.
Had some difficulty in locating the address, But with a working Sat Nav there would be no problem.
The owner had a good supply of maps and information on local areas of interest. Lots of board games and activities for the children and family.

Room Tip: A small establishment with 2 very clean and well appointed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from a week in "Dovecote" which is the self-catering cottage attached to Merther Uny Farm's B&B.... and last minute took my Mum with us, booking her into the B&B.

My SatNav took me almost right to the door, so no problems finding the Farm. The lane is narrow, but there isn't a lot of traffic using it and plenty of passing places are to be found.

Gill, John and Carl provide a fantastic place - as others have already mentioned, you immediately feel like a member of the family. The atmosphere is relaxed and easy going, but not one things is missing from either the accommodation or the hospitality.

Mum raved every morning about her huge breakfasts and the lovely homemade marmalade. The rooms are absolutely spotless and provide everything and more than a 4 star hotel would provide, It's a perfect spot for touring around Cornwall. St Mawes via the little car ferry or boat from Falmouth, The Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan.

And as others have said, I write this positive review hoping that it won't result in my not being able to book a return trip in the future, which I am sure I will do!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this traditional old farmhouse b&b. The room was well proportioned and extremely comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. The hosts are very welcoming and the breakfasts were very tasty. It is very peaceful being off the beaten track and away from the tourist traps which was exactly what we were looking for. However, it is still in an ideal location for exploring the Lizard Peninsula. Unbelievable value. A true hidden gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Not the easiest place to find, tucked away up narrow roads and an eventual cul-de-sac, but well worth the effort once there. This meant it was extremely quiet and the two room accommodation was well appointed and comfortable. The hosts made one very welcome and the individually prepared breakfasts were first class . Despite the thick overnight fogs while we were there we enjoyed watching the many and various wild birds feeding in the garden which at another time of year would no doubt be a blaze of colour. It is handily placed for all of western Cornwall and only about 5 miles from Helston, so a good base for touring. We will certainly try to return when next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Lovely large comfortable room.Fantastic characterful farmhouse with welcoming friendly hosts. Very relaxing & out of the way location, just what we were looking for. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Merther Uny farm was exactly what we were looking for- a hidden gem in Cornwall, far from the tourist traps.. The rooms are charming, I felt like I was at home, the garden full of beautiful flowers, and the breakfast in the cosy living room is big enough for two! The next time I'm in Cornwall I will definately stay here again. The only drawback (and plus point, at the same time) is that it is a bit far away from the main road, with a narrow country lane leading up to it, so may not be great for nervous drivers, but once you get there, the drive is worth it!

Room Tip: We loved the blue room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merther Uny Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merther Uny Farm

Address: Wendron, Helston TR13 0NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Merther Uny Farm Helston, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merther Uny Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.