We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day out for the kids” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flambards Theme Park

Flambards Theme Park
Clodgey Lane, Helston TR13 0QA, England
44 1326 573404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Attractions in Helston
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Day out for the kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had some discount from the holiday park we stayed at, oaid and inside as other reviews do state it is for young children my daughter aged 6 loved it the f1 cars you pay for like at Paltons Park, then the log flume she loved lost count how many time we went on this, the rides are for theyoung ones, we went to the sea legs play area indoors and the ball pit a child had weed in the balls and it stank, the rides were ok i had a job to sit in the nasa ride it goes up and down they control it we got our tickets stamped to go back on the friday aftenoon and one of them had broke we spoke to a local lady who told us it is up for sae so when the rides break they are not being fixed.
Food is like anywhere else magnum ice cream £2.00, hot dog £2.95, bottle of drink £1.50p, candy floos pot £2.95, daughter loved it, they do eem to close early 4.30 pm food outlets close at 4.00pm, site closed at 5.00pm.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    210
    150
    78
    73
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Rides for everyone .Get discount vouchers from tourist info and shops .Victorian village is educational for kids and nostalgic for parents and grandparents.Great day out and free returns within the week,so if it rains you can do the museum and come another day for the rides.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was my 4th visit to Flambards over the past 23 years, but the first time with children. And they loved it. My two are aged 3 and 5 so it was perfect for them. It's closer to Legoland than Alton Towers in terms of the selection of rides and we found plenty to do. So much so, that we did in fact return for a second visit on the free 5 day return offer.

From a personal perspective I've always loved the museums, they haven't changed much over the years but are well worth a visit. I was pleased to see that the war time pub did not this year have the Tango bottle on the table though this did make me chuckle when we visited some years ago.

I was very sad to see that the exhibition about Gus Honeybun has gone and had been reduced to just a few toy rabbits in a burrow. The story and history of Gus is fascinating and I loved reading all about him on past visits. The science area where you could hilariously perform your own weather forecast has also gone. Presumably this is to make room for more rides which no doubt is what people prefer, oh well.

Still, we had a good day and a half out there at a reasonable price so I can't really complain.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant not too expensive day out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good all round entertainment for all the family from youngsters for rides science experience tent etc to granny/grandad for the nostalgic victorian village and world war two memorabilia,
all I would say is take a packed lunch and drinks, as refreshments are rather expensive, if you get a chance to go whn they have a firework experience do its fantastic! recently I had the opportunity to attend a wedding function in the Kinglsey centre and again I couldn't fault it a fantastic venue and a good platform for up and coming new bands excellanat

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely little theme park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Let's make this clear - this isn't Alton Towers. This is a very sweet little attraction with lots to look at and do, but it's not for thrill seekers.

The good - my children (aged 1, 4 and 6) loved the rides and there was lots they could go on. The queues were short and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food tasted really good - we ate in the blitz café. We didn't visit the war exhibition or the Britain in the Blitz because we thought it might too scary for the children but the Victorian Britain exhibit was fascinating, detailed and interesting for all of us.

The not so good - there are a number of things that require an extra charge once you are in the park. There is plenty to do apart from them, but pester power might mean you end up spending more (we didn't). The food is quite expensive, but you expect that from these places. The entrance is quite expensive too, but you get a lot for your money and we had a discount voucher from the place we were staying - do check if your accommodation offers them.

Our three children had a fantastic day out they will remember for a while. All in all, well worth a visit if you have younger children.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flambards Theme Park also viewed

 

Been to Flambards Theme Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flambards Theme Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.