We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Anchor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Blue Anchor Inn
50 Coinagehall Street, Helston TR13 8EL, England
(01326) 562821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 93 restaurants in Helston
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great ales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I wanted to take my 'ale loving' husband here as had read about it on TripAdvisor. Am happy to say he loved the ales on offer! We had had a long day walking the dog so a sit down with a few drinks was appreciated. No food served but the friendly barmaid recommended a pasty/sandwich shop up the road to get a take away and eat in the Blue Anchor-great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    8
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not the place to take the wife”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A good beer drinking tavern, but not the best place to take the wife for a night out.
The food was fair to average, but was expensive for what you got and where you were served.
A micro brewery is a best description for this pub, very popular with the locals, but not up to it as far as food is concerned I am afraid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent beer you have to try it , Youve been spingo'd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have visited this pub a few times as im a lover of real ale, what can i say about Spingo, he best real ale i have ever tasted. i love dark ale and the Special at nearly 7% is yummy, but beware after 3 pints you will be talking funny and and your legs may well give way.
But i have to say i wil always go back when ever im down seeing my family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Went for a coastal walk which gave us a thirst so we popped in to this pub for a pint. Fantastic old pub. They brew their own Spingo beer which is excellent. Great atmosphere, no electronic games or piped music, just good conversation. My friend was last there 35 years ago. We both agreed we mustn't leave it that long again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Anchor Inn also viewed

Helston, Cornwall
Helston, Cornwall
 

Been to The Blue Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.