We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, what a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Holiday Park
Save
You added Silver Sands Holiday Park to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Kennack Sands | Near the Lizard, Helston TR12 7LZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb, what a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have just returned from a week’s camping during the Whit Week break and what a gem of a site. One of the owners, Kell greeted us with a warm welcome and both she and Husband Nick were always available to give help or advice on local areas.

The site has one area with static rental caravans and touring caravans and the other area for camping, both were well maintained. The camping area had about 18 larger than normal pitches (with plenty of electric hook-ups), these were located around a large grassed area. This area offered an ideal safe and secure area with swings for the children to play and proved very popular; there is also another play area with a sandpit on the Caravan area for younger children.

Centrally located are the amenities; the shower blocks consist of 3 showers with free hot water and 4 toilets, there is an excellent laundry and indoor washing up area with freezers for those of us without electric hook-up points. We never had to wait to use any of the facilities which were always spotlessly clean!

For those without electric hook-ups or a TV, close the main entrance is a cabin which is used as a TV and internet room, adults however do need to accompany children and obtain the keys from Kell or Nick. But to be honest, if you need to watch the TV, what are you doing holidaying in Cornwall?

There is no shop onsite but basics like; eggs, mile & bread can purchased from the reception or alternatively there are large Sainsbury and Tesco in Helston about 10 miles away.

The site is definitely family and dog friendly and there is an adjoining field to walk dogs and they do offer a kennel facility too, however we never took advantage and I have no idea on the cost.

DO NOT follow the SatNav once you’re past Helson or you’ll end up in Kuggar (which is no issue but not the site), we had direction given to use once our booking had been accepted and if you follow those you cannot go far wrong. (Do not be put off by the track that runs off the main road to the site). Silver Sands is ideally situated to explore all the attractions the Lizard has to offer and there is easy access via a footpath at the main entrance of the site down to Kennack sands 15 mins away. There are 2 lovely beaches with good facilities, the East beach dog friendly. If you don’t feel like the walk from the site you can drive through Kuggar onto a carpark on the West beach and walk the dog on the Coastal Path to get to the East beach.


The site is visited by Cornish people too, you know the saying “if it’s good enough for the locals…”
On the downside we had some noisy neighbours who felt it was ok to allow their noisy children on the playground at 06:45 (even though it official opened at 09:00) and the next morning hold a full blown load conversation at 07:00, believe it or not these were actual Cornish people too!

We WILL be coming back and in my book that's as good a recommendation as any, well done to Nick and Kell.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Probabaly one of the best holiday parks i have been to in ages, the owners are polite and always said hi. We went during the may bank holiday weekend so it was packed but the park is setup in such a way that you still have your privacy. It's such a nice place as well with fantastic walks and the beaches just a short walk away. It's so nice i would by a pitch if i could!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

About to book our camping holiday at Silver Sands, for the fifth year in a row. We have camped in Cornwall for our family holidays for most of the last twenty years and this is the best site we have stayed at.
A genuine, quiet, relaxing ambience is found at the site, nurtured by the owners. It is in a lovely setting, all the camping pitches are sheltered and well separated; all dishwashing, laundry and toilet/wash requirements are well-met. Good facilities for dogs (and play areas for children). A walk down to the Kennack Sands beaches (one dog-friendly, the other not).
No shop or bar on site, but that just adds to the serenity !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our first time camping at Silversands and it won't be our last! The campsite is well maintained and the shower blocks are very clean The site is small and personal but there are still two play areas and a sandpit for younger and older children and a dedicated dog field where dogs can go for off lead walks. The owners have a large kennel in their garden and dogs can be left for a small charge. The owners are friendly and very helpful and can often be seen around the site. There is a mix of tents, tourers and statics which works really well. The pitches were large, in fact I had to check with my neighbour to make sure it was all ours! Drainage was excellent. There are no groups of youngsters, no loud music and no clubhouse and so the site is extremely peaceful..The campsite is well placed to visit all the local coves, villages and attractions on the Lizard. It is a 20 minute walk down a wooded pathway to the two beaches Kennack Sands East and West. East is dog friendly all year but dogs are allowed on West after 7pm. It is a 20 minute walk to get onto the south coastal path. Some of the highlights for us were Coverack (with a dog friendly beach), The Lizard with the fantastic Polpeor cafe overlooking the sea and Cadgwith the quaint fishing village. This is definately one of the nicest sites we have been to and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Little gem off the beaten track. Countryside all round but only 20 minute stroll to Kennack Sands beach (through nature reserve / woodlands). Owners really friendly.
Nice pitches on well kept site. Peaceful and quiet.
Toilet and wash facilities clean & good.
Imagine great for kids (with play area surrounded by trees); but in our case really dog friendly.
Already booked to go back !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Although we had camped around the area at other sites for a while we hadn't found this park until this month. Just wish we had found it sooner as it is perfect!. The welcome was so warm and friendly including for our two dogs. We arrived on a windy Saturday and as it was before the season had started and due to the weather the owners suggested a corner site which was a little more sheltered. We had a lovely position looking out on the bluebells and as we were the only campers the dogs could have a good play outside the tent and they enjoyed their morning walk in the adjoining field - it was good to see that a dog waste bin was provided. The site is so well maintained with privacy provided by the little hedges or trees between each pitch and level ground. Cleaniness is excellent and one which I think is important. The showers are hot and powerful and just what is needed after a chilly night or long day walking. So many excellent facilities are provided such as laundry and washing together with the fridges/freezers for our ice packs which we were grateful for. We will be visiting again soon and won't be looking to go anywhere else now...it is that good!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Another fantastic stay here at Silver Sands over the Easter break. We received a lovely warm welcome on arrival and were handed the key to our static van, funnily enough the same one we had last time we stayed and it was just as good as last time, very clean with everything we needed. The chocolate chicks were a lovely touch for our two children as was the welcome tea and coffee pack for us.
The new play area for the older children was an instant hit with our two, excellent idea. It was nice and safe for them to go to play and socialise with other kids without us ‘boring parents’ hanging around.
We didn’t need to use the other facilities but they looked very clean and well maintained.
The site itself is surrounded by a nature reserve and is so peaceful and quiet, sitting outside as night falls with a glass of Proper Job listening to the owls was bliss. A short walk across the fields and you are on the coastal path which boasts stunning walks to Cadgwith and Coverack.
There are plenty of places to eat out nearby. A small restaurant in Kuggar, just across the fields or a short drive away, The Top House Inn in the nearby Lizard village and the small café on Kennack sands, to name just a few.
Another successful holiday thanks to great weather and an excellent campsite.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Park

Address: Kennack Sands | Near the Lizard, Helston TR12 7LZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Helston
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Sands Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands Holiday Park offers you a choice of static caravan holiday homes, lodge, touring and camping pitches in Cornwall in a mature parkland setting. Set in the dramatic and beautiful countryside of the Lizard Peninsula, an area of outstanding natural beauty, Silver Sands Holiday Park is ideal for families, couples and singles alike, whether you want "away from it all" relaxation or a more active sightseeing and touring holiday in Cornwall. From Silver Sands it is just a short 1km woodland walk through the Lizard Nature Reserve to clean sandy beaches of Kennack Sands. The stunning Kynance Cove, the Lizard-the most southerly point in Cornwall and the unspoilt Helford River are all within easy reach. The rugged coastline of the Lizard Peninsula nestling many secret coves, sandy beaches and pretty fishing villages are all waiting for you to explore. As Silver Sands is a small family run holiday park, we know how important all the little touches are that will make your holiday experience a truly good one. Nick & Kell Whittle look forward to extending a warm welcome to you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Park Helston, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.