We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Top House Inn

The Top House Inn
The Lizard, Helston TR12 7NQ, England
01326 290974
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 92 Restaurants in Helston
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Vegetarian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Popped in to this very nice inn for lunch while visiting the Lizard.The food,service and cleaniness was very good and I recommend if you are in the area that you try if for yourself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Robert F

Thanks so much for your lovely review.

We are really pleased you had a great lunch here and found the food, service and cleanliness to be very good …. that’s great!

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Best wishes
James and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Nice pub and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We called in here after a mornings walk. The food was very good and reasonably priced, and a lot of choice. The staff were very pleasant, we'll definately be back next year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear sarahanne1

Thanks so much for your lovely review.

It’s great to hear your enjoyed your visit so much you will be coming back to see us next year. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable visit.

Best wishes
James and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Atmosphere really welcoming and friendly. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful. We took the dog which was no problem. We had excellent starter - hogs pudding & scallops! I had special Hake, really good portion size, good flavour. Husband had pork burger (bit dry) but chips/ salad really good, Mum had Chicken pie - lots of chicken & good taste. Pudding was brownie which was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good meal and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

the hotel was busy but we were seated right away and the food was lovely and the service was excellent

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Staff, Old fashioned pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We enjoyed a very tasty dinner at the Top house in whilst on holiday in the Lizard area. Food was really tasty. The staff we really friendly.
My only slight disappointment was the very old fashioned interior - carpet, etc, but this didn't spoil our meal.
They have a nice varied menu, something for everyone, and was enjoyable.
The popularity of this restaurant was shown by the fact that it was very busy despite us having a fairly early dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Top House Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Top House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Top House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.