We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than just watching...........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RNAS Culdrose Airfield Viewing Area

RNAS Culdrose Airfield Viewing Area
Gweek Road, Helston TR12 6BB, England
01326 565085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Attractions in Helston
Type: Landmarks
Attraction details
Gravesend
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than just watching...........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The view was great. The cream tea while watching the activities even better. yum yum. I laughed when I over heard a lady asking the shop assistant 'When is the next air display?'
The assistant told her 'there is no display'
Lady 'I just caught the end of that one, so what time is the next?' Assistant 'There are no displays. That's the Royal Navy doing what they do'
Lady 'Can't you find out what's next?'
Assistant 'They don't tell us what they do, we are not part of the Airfield. We serve food and drinks, sell things to the public who visit here.'
Lady 'Huff tut' and walked out.
Some people !!!!!!!!!!1 lol lol

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    17
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
reading
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Lots of helicopters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Viewing the aircraft is even better on the tour as you get to see them up close. The bus stops off at the various hangers and you can view the aircraft inside. This bit I really enjoyed.

We stopped off at the fire station and climbed on board a fire engine and had a good look inside. The children liked going in and out of them. During the time of our visit the firemen conducted an exercise in cutting up a car. The children did not find it that great and we spent quite a bit of time watching that in our limited tour time!

On one of the hangers the bus stopped by to have a look and as we did the engineers started closing the doors! They could have waited 5 mins!

I feel more input could have been given by the service personal but we didn't have much. Those that did like some of firemen did an excellent job. More input should have been given by aircrew. In summary a more systematic approach is needed on the tour.

Overall we still enjoyed it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Air Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fabulous days entertainment for all the family, well organised parking etc excellent amenities will definitely go again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great picnic spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I like this place, you can have a picnic or get food from the cafe and sit and watch helicopters come and go! What more could you ask for!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

100%,,,Just perfection,,,loved it,,well worth a visit,,,,A big thank you too all of you for putting on a great show.The white helmets,and their crazy Captain,,,was perfect,as was all of the displays,,,Thank you so very very much,,,,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RNAS Culdrose Airfield Viewing Area also viewed

 

Been to RNAS Culdrose Airfield Viewing Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RNAS Culdrose Airfield Viewing Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.