We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandeley Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandeley Guest House
Save
You added Mandeley Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Clodgey Lane, Helston TR13 8PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Helston B&B and Inns
Tenby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Absolutely faultless from our time of arrival to our departure. Most friendly hosts. Spotlessly clean. Very comfortable. Great food. Nothing at all to dislike.This will surely be our "local" every time we stay in the area again. Give it a try !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We set off to S.W. Cornwall without pre-booking any accomodation (possibly a dangerous thing to do in high holiday season!) & decided to make the Helston-area our base as it was quite central to the places we wanted to get out & about to.

We spotted Mandeley as we were running down into Helston, it looked nice & was showing vacancies so we thought we'd try our luck...& we're so very glad we did as this was a FANTASTIC find!!!!

Birgitt gave us a lovely warm greeting & showed us to our room, "Rebecca", which is an en-suite double with gleaming white bed linen & pristine presentation.

The bed is super comfortable & afforded us 3 great nights sleep, essential when you pack your days full of exploring.

The en-suite shower room is a good size, with a reasonably sizable shower cubicle & immaculately clean. The water pressure in the shower is a little on the low side but that truly is the only tiny negative that I can cite regarding our whole stay!

Now to the breakfasts...BLOOMING MARVELLOUS...wonderfully fresh & filling. A selection of cereals, yoghurt & fresh berries followed by a choice of cooked...Hubby had a "Full English" every day & I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on the first morning which were delicious & an enormous portion...yum...then on mornings 2 & 3 I had grilled mushrooms & poached egg with toast again good generous portions to set me up for the day ahead.

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay with Birgitt & Paul at Mandeley & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend their hospitality to anyone heading to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our two night stay at the Mandeley was superb. Our room and bathroom were immaculate and beautifully presented and the breakfast was excellent. Birgit and Paul were really friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here agai.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Mandeley is a great place to stay while exploring west Cornwall. The rooms are located out to the back, so you can have a good and restful night. Very nice furnished, very clean and the bathrooms luxerious. Breakfast either continental or full english, with fresh fruits, cereals, juice, milk, toast, croissants, brötchen, etc..more than enough for a good days start.
Birgitt is a great host, very considerate and is happy when her guests are happy.
Should I visit Cornwall again (and I am sure I will) it will be the Mandeley that I will contact first for my stay. I can and will definately recommend this B&B!
Thanks Birgitt, I really enjoyed the 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Rooms are lovely. Very high specification. Great breakfast. Paul and Birgit are great hosts. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at the Mandeley Guest House when visiting friends in Helston. Birgit gave us a friendly welcome upon our arrival and this continued throughout our stay.
Our room (Fisherman's Creek) was pristine, quiet and comfortable. Good quality matresses, plump pillows and Egyptian cotton bedding ensured a great night's sleep. The modern en suite has large and powerful walk-in shower.
There is a great choice for breakfast- the homemade granola is well worth trying.
We would certainly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Fisherman's Creek has a lovely, large and powerful shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Lovely room, very comfortable and immaculately clean. Great range of breakfast and very tasty, nice to have fresh milk in the room and not uht!
Very welcoming and friendly, I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandeley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandeley Guest House

Address: Clodgey Lane, Helston TR13 8PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Helston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandeley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mandeley Guest House the guest bedrooms offer modern, high quality and comfortable accommodation with attention to detail. Guests have their own side entrance allowing easier access to their accommodation. We offer secure off-road parking and can provide limited parking for motorcycles and bicycles in our garage.The nearest bus stop is about 200 metres away. We are situated on the A394 - the main route through to many attractions, such as the beautiful Lizard Peninsular, the Helford River, and the spectacular Mounts Bay south coast route to Penzance. German spoken. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mandeley Guest House Helston, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandeley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.