We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by far the best in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
6 High Street | St Keverne, Helston, Helston tr12-6nn , England
01326-280800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Helston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
cirencester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“by far the best in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This place is very rare - the owners do the cooking and the service and both are excellent. The ambience isn't chi-chi or up itself and the prices reflect exceptional value given the work and the ingredients going into each dish. The food is creative, copious, locally sourced and freshly prepared. There's a good beer menu too. What more could you ask? We go there at least twice every time we are in Cornwall.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great find, beautiful fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We ate here on a recent trip to cornwell. the restaurant is actually about 20 mins drive from helston in a nearby village. It is a small relaxed place in a converted house. The food we had was great my husband started with scallops in a pistatio and crab butter which was great. i had some treacle smoked salmon with a dill and mustard butter. it was proper thick slices of salmon which i really enjoyed. For our mains we had a place florintine and a belly of pork, both delicious but portions were huge, half the amount would have been more than enough. Sadly we had no room for dessert but they also looked great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well cooked local produce with some interesting twists.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The courses always have something a bit interesting - but not over fussy - about them. We have had good fish and meat there, with veggie friends also well looked after. Amazing treacle tart with clotted cream.
Small but good selection of wines and they feature some local beers.
Atmosphere is relaxed and homely (we have been welcomed in our walking boots as well as when a bit more dressed up), and the friendly owners cook and serve.
Best to book, as restaurant is fairly small.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakford, devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Big impression Bistro...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

What a lovely place... we ate here on 13th May 2011, and both enjoyed its rustic charm and lovely relaxed food and atmosphere. We mainly ate fish, king pawns, scallops and haddock, with lovely choc tart and cheese to finish. On par with good class eateries, well worth trying.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An outstanding meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We have just returned from a short break in Cornwall and had the pleasure of attending a private wedding function at the Greenhouse.

I love restaurants like the Greenhouse as they offer amazing locally sourced produce, cooked perfectly and considering that they catered for a private party of 30 people, everyone was served their starters, main meal and desert at the same time, with minimal fuss and not a cold meal to be had. This is a good achievement at the best of times, but you then have to factor in that there were just a couple of people preparing and serving the meals.

If you are in the area, I can highly recommend eating at the Greenhouse and it is well worth a drive / detour (we travelled about 25 miles from our hotel in Marazion).

I cannot comment on the value as the meal was paid for by the wedding party, but looking at the menu, for the quality of food and service, I would certainly be happy to put my hand in my pocket and pay that little bit more, to get the quality and more importantly, support a local business that in turn is supporting their fellow local organic producers.

Many thanks to the team at the Greenhouse and I look forward to the opportunity of returning for another top notch meal.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.