We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The May Tree

The May Tree
Clodgey Lane, Helston TR13 0QD, England
01326 555000
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 90 Restaurants in Helston
Price range: $8 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Whether you're looking for a quick snack, a leisurely meal, a celebration with friends and family, or a business meeting with colleagues, we've got the table and menu for you. You can lounge on our comfy sofas or dine in our cosy alcoves. Or even have a meal in one of our private dining spaces. At Table Table you can enjoy our great menu which serves up something tempting for every occasion. From traditional to contemporary, steaks to salads, you'll find a meal to suit.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“New year break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch with our friends. The staff were warm and friendly, service was good. The food was good value for money.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    26
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“usual premier inn eatery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

good menu choice, smiley staff ,and a decent plateful of food,,just what you want when you need it! clean place,,the service is good not to long a wait neather,,there roasts are allways excellent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I keep on going to treat ourselves quite often at this restaurant and if we keep on going back it means that we are pleased with the service, location and quality of food. The ambient is nice and staff pretty professionally friendly. We recently visited the May Tree restaurant opened in Camborne, which is it's twin brother from Helston and we've had the same pleasant experience. We will go back to either of them!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“More than happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and i went to visit this establishment this evening and to be honest i cant see how the bad reviews have come about. Service was excellent as was the standards.I do beliveve that honest mistakes do happen,but i do think if as a customer you can open a dialogue instead of being condesending to the hosts this will always get you the remedy you would like. Many thanks to our server Dan and to Vicky (hope that is spelt right) for a relaxing evening and we will be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

my parent s visit me during the year and alway s stay here for one or two night s the accomadation is excerlent with helpfull happy staff the food in the resturant is good servered quickly even when busy and value for money

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The May Tree also viewed

 
Helston, Cornwall
 

Been to The May Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The May Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.