We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Surf

Sunset Surf
10 Gwithian Towans, Hayle TR27 5BT, England
+44 1736 752575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 53 Restaurants in Hayle
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Family Fare, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sunset Surf beachside cafe and licensed bar is open all year round, serving high quality food and drink, served fresh and prepared from locally sourced, seasonal ingredients wherever possible. With breathtaking views of the beautiful St Ives bay, from Godrevy Lighthouse, along Gwithian Beach and across to St Ives, we provide the perfect setting for you to relax and enjoy your time with us. We are constantly working hard to improve everything we do, striving to provide you with the very best Sunset Surf experience in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We believe strongly in employing staff from the local area, working wherever possible with local suppliers and working hard to run a sustainable business with minimal impact to the environment.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Visited this morning for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised, looks a bit 'surfery' from the outside which can a bit off putting but the service was great, the food was delicious and the coffe was good. Good value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    23
    12
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Massively over-priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Unfortunately it seems the refurb of the cafe has gone hand in hand with upping prices to a ridiculous degree. Eg - Cream tea for one, with ONE scone, cream and jam and single tea/coffee for £6 - yes £6!! I mean, for heaven's sake - who thinks ONE scone makes a cream tea in the first place and then be charged £6 for it!
I'm a local and we walk our dogs here a great deal - but I won't be back to the cafe, I'll bring a flask instead.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polzea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“overpriced budget food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

lovely location, but totally overpriced with supermarket value type food. we paid £16 for a sandwich and panini which was made from cheap plastic food. would definitely not go here again when there are so many other lovely places in cornwall with home made fresh food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Gorgeous location, friendly, nice menu, nice choices BUT even though food averagely priced, coffees, milkshakes, juices, smoothies VERY expensive, £4.50 for a banana milkshake ! Not even a huge one :-(
£3.00 for coffee THEN 50p EXTRA for de caf, never been charged extra for that ! Surely not fair ?!
Shame, would make me think again about going there

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really disappointed !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Cornwall for a long time and always stopped by at this cafe. We called today to a building site after seeing on Facebook that the safe had reopened aft refurb. I paid for muffin, small latte and bottle of peroni to be then to we cannot take the beer outside so had to sit in the building site to drink it.
This cost £8 which I think is overpriced! Sorry but you have now lost our custom :-(

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Surf also viewed

 
Hayle, Cornwall
 

Been to Sunset Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.