We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Holiday,Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Ives Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Ives Bay Holiday Park
Save
You added St Ives Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
73 Loggans Rd, Hayle TR27 5BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday,Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the park,we had a brilliant holiday from start to finish,the Osprey van we stayed in was very spacious and clean and positioned well with magnificent views out across to St Ives and Godrevy.
Site security was very good with the gatehouse and security patrols during the night.
Site facilities in the shower block were very clean which we used to save time waiting for a shower in the caravan,although the shower in the caravan was excellent and spacious,the cooker and items in the van were all you needed to be home from home if staying at the van.
Site amenities were good,the shop was reasonably priced and the swimming pool was popular and the food served in the restaurant at the pool was of good value and quality.
We did not visit the area where the entertainment was but this was very popular,the takeaway van on site was very good which surprised me,the fish and chips were excellent.
Access to the beach was quite tricky if you have walking difficulties and especially egress but is well worth it once you are down there,the sand and surf were beautiful and it was always good to have the lifeguards on hand,they do a great job and people should obey the rules.
Camping on site was very popular and although we do not camp i would consider it if we were to in the future,the pitches looked good and were close to shower/toilet blocks.
We visited beaches at Watergate Bay,Porthtowan,St Ives,Hayle and others,all very good and clean.
We also visited Paradise Park where we all had an enjoyable time.
The site is an excellent base to visit Land End,Padstow,Lizard,Newquay,St Ives,Penzance etc etc and we all look forward to visiting again in the future,we would highly recommend,have fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for all the detail and for such a generous review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    112
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
229
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Accommodation- very poor. Fridge rusty, towel rail rusty, shower seal mouldy... Streaks down wall in bedroom... Grill door doesn't close... Windows are so dirty can barely see out of the kitchen window... Tv remote is held together by very sticky tatty tape... Handles on 2 windows broken... Steps to caravan very steep(4of them) and rickety very unsafe for children... Kettle is one to use on a hob... Around the caravan is all nettles and prickly weeds :( very disappointed.... Will see what the park has to offer tomorrow apart from a snooty receptionist :( not a good start!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
thanks for your review! we strongly urge all clients to read descriptions of our accommodation. they are honest and straight forward. if we do not meet your expectations on arrival then please let us know as we can often help! we are sorry to read similar reviews for all other accommodation you have reviewed this summer. hope this helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was our third holiday in Cornwall and our first camping holiday. We booked last minute after reading great reviews and were not disappointed! The location is fantastic, Hayle beach is extremely clean and very well maintained. The holiday park facilities really impressed me! I work in a hotel so I can be very fussy when I travel , but I have to say my expectations were exceeded. The toilet and washing facilities were extremely clean and we were under the impression it was cleaned several times during the day. The pool is clean and provided great day entertainment to our 5-year son during rainy days, he also really enjoyed the children's entertainment during the evenings. We were blessed with great weather during our stay and it was great to spend time in Hayle beach and exploring the surrounding areas. Our only recommendation if camping is to take extra long pegs for your tent, we did so via another guest's recommendation and it was a life saver as it can be extremely windy.
I highly recommend St Ives and we can't wait to return on a camping trip next year!
Staff is friendly and welcoming all across the different areas of the holiday park

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
thanks for such a generous review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been regular visitors going every year since 2000. We have enjoyed all our stays and each year the site and facilities have improved. This year however, as our children are now grown up we decided to holiday in Egypt, never again! We have really missed St. Ives Bay this year and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks - we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really enjoyed the week me, the missus and the little one spent there. Caravan was clean, well used but had not complaints. The site was clean, entertainment was good for both adults and children and the staff were staff were friendly. Can't really ask for much more.
Beaches and the views are fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank-you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A fantastic location and great park,our boys (3 and 5) both really enjoyed the park and the facilities. Swimming pool, park, beach, arcades etc
The park has a great on site shop which is well stocked and competively priced, open times are not that early for an early bird, but there are numerous local shops and supermarkets also, so lots of choice.
Very clean accomodation lovely views and all well equipped. We stayed in a new Raven which we would highly recommend plenty of space and in very good condition as new.
Nice club house and two bars, the restaurant is a good price and edible which makes a change for these types of sites, takeaway van very nice also! One bar is adult only which is nice!
The swimming pool is clean and rarely busy. The beach is amazing but would not suit the less able, due to the steep walk and steps, but the views are truly spectacular.
Lots to do and see locally, St Ives main town is great, Hayle also has very nice restaurants if you want to go off site.
On site entertainment great for kids around tea time, with magic ,balloons, punch and judy etc, we watched some evening entertainment which was also good, large club house.
We will go back but for two weeks! not one! it was such a welcome break from the usual big name camp sites, a job well done with freindly staff and a great site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for a fab review. Bar area in the Sands club is adult only but the rest of the building is open to all. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location of the holiday park is perfect. The views from the park are beautiful and the beach is ideal for families. We had a chalet at the top end close to the beach and pool which was a 5 min walk away. The bar served good quality food and the staff were great too! The chalet was basic but very clean and the beds were comfortable. You can be overlooked depending on which chalet you get so make sure curtains are drawn! Don't leave windows open as access to our chalet was fairly easy. Staff were extremely helpful on arrival and the whole site was run professionally. If weather was guaranteed there'd be no need to go abroad as this site has everything. St Ives is 7 miles away and one of the nicest places in Cornwall. We'd go back - but choose accommodation carefully...top end of park if you can.

Room Tip: Top end of park closest to beach bar and pool has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stivesbay, Owner at St Ives Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for a generous review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Ives Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ives Bay Holiday Park

Address: 73 Loggans Rd, Hayle TR27 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Hayle
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run holiday park on fabulous sandy beach. Caravans Chalets and camping in the dunes. Bars, shop etc. Many units with fab sea views. Ideal for families and kids. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St Ives Bay Holiday Park Hotel Hayle
St Ives Bay Holiday Park Hayle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Ives Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.