We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbank House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandbank House to your Saves list
Sandbank House
51 Upton Towans, Hayle TR27 5BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hayle B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice, would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed with Julie and Chris all week on business and was very happy with the quality of the room and en-suite facilities, which were both finished to a high standard.

Breakfast was good, Julie even sourced me some gluten free sausages, which was very kind of her and they tasted great. It's in a great location too, quite near the beach but also only a few minutes off the A30.

My only 2 little niggles were the noise from the fridge meant that I had to turn it off at night, so I couldn't store food in it, though they've said that they are looking at silent running fridges, so that hopefully won't be a problem soon. And secondly the windows are single glazed, and with the road being so close, you do hear the cars through the night, but that's not a big deal if you're used to it.

I can definitely recommend Sandbank House and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights using it as a base to visit the Mineck theatre and St Ives. It is close, by foot through the Towans sand dune or by car, to the beautiful beach at Gwithian We were welcomed by Julie and shown the facilities and our bedroom. We asked for a recommendation for somewhere to eat which she not only gave us but offered to ring a book a table!
The room was freshly decorated, clean and tidy. The shower room was spacious with a good shower. We had a good night couple of nights' sleep followed by a very good breakfast cooked by Julie eaten in the conservatory. Another top tip from Julie was to use the park and train into St Ives from Lelant, so much better than trying to park in the town.
We would be happy to visit Sandbanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I were down in Cornwall for a wedding in St Ives. The room was just perfect; beautifully furnished and appointed with a very comfortable bed and stunning en-suite. When we came down to breakfast we were greated with fresh stawberries and a freshly cooked to order full English breakfast. Julie was very friendly and accomodating - fresh milk that can be kept in a fridge in your room, and a lovely touch having cake available on the landing if you feel a little hungry. I would recommend that anyone travelling in the St Ives area should check out Sandbanks.

Room Tip: I expect that all rooms are lovely but suggest that you ask for one which overlooks the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Your lovely comments are very much appreciated- thank you! Glad you enjoyed the strawberries, and I hope to welcome you back to Sandbank House again. Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble upon Sandbank House and find they had a vacancy! We had spent two nights' camping in a very rainy Cornish campsite nearby, and we decided to admit defeat and indulge in some much-needed comfort. The result was a night in a beautiful garden room (amazing view of the stunning garden!!), fantastic service and a lovely breakfast. All in a very relaxed atmosphere and Julie and Chris were super-helpful and friendly. A great stay all round!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We're really pleased you decided to treat yourself to a visit to Sandbank House. Thank you for your very kind comments and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This b&b is run by a kind and friendly couple who clearly love what they do and have a beautiful home/B&B. a very welcoming and comfortable place to be!

My husband and I stayed for one night and stayed in a lovely room, which was not too hot and had a garden view (the one in the picture), with a fab bathroom too, gorgeous shower (and lots of fluffy towels)!!!!

The breakfast was lovely and cooked perfectly. We actually woke late and were still kindly given a lovely breakfast. Excellent service, well worth it's price and a quality nights sleep in a firm bed (always a bonus, rather than a naf soft mattress.

I loved that the owners leave fruit and cake at the top of the stairs if your feeling a little puckish or fancy a snack, nice touch.

It's location is great for lots of fun, not far from many beaches and about 7 miles from St Ives!

We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others and plan to.

Thank you. :-)

Room Tip: Not sure what the other rooms are like but I'm sure they are al just as stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely comments, and good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us- I hope we helped to make your anniversary memorable. We hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for just one night, booked at very late notice after my husband had ridden from John O'Groats to Land's End - and Julie and Chris could not have been more accommodating. A beautiful room, excellent bathroom, welcome glass of mead and homemade cake and a very good breakfast. As frequent travellers to South Africa we tend to gauge standards by the amazing b and b's we have stayed in over there - and Sandbank House is of that same high standard. Turns out that's what the rooms, house, breakfast and service have been based upon! We can highly recommend it - and are very grateful for the kind donation to my husband's bike ride charity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sandbank House, and appreciate the comparison to the beautiful B&B's in South Africa. We hope to see you again if you come back to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We came here, devastated after several usual B&B nights in narrow beds, bathhroom on the floor and pretty old houses. Here you got the opposite! Wide beds and modern rooms in Hollywoodstyle, bathrooms were you can get lost. Cosy towels and a nice view over the beautyful garden. Everything you will dream about breakfast including fresh stawberries, tea,coffee, eggs etc. etc. will be prepared by the nice hosts.We never wanted to get off this place, but after 4 nights we had to face reality again.This was our nicest stay on the Island and to it's very best it is no fake comment. It is highly recommended by Doris and Christoph from Bavaria.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandbankholidays, Owner at Sandbank House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to see you again when you come back to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbank House

Address: 51 Upton Towans, Hayle TR27 5BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandbank House is a friendly, family-run Bed & Breakfast that offers a warm welcome. Our en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated with a wide choice of breakfasts served in the conservatory. All bedrooms are tastefully decorated to a high standard. Sandbank House dates back to 1898 and is nestled in a peaceful conservation area on the eastern side of St. Ives Bay. A two minute drive from Gwithian Beach and ten minutes from St. Ives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbank House Hayle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.