We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Pasties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philp's Famous Pasties

Philp's Famous Pasties
1 East Quay, Hayle tr27 4bj, England
+44 1736 755661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Hayle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Proper Pasties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice pastry, well seasoned fillings, generous size and reasonably priced. Like cheese and veg best! Great cold but better warm from oven.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    56
    39
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as nice as they used to be .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Still enormous but very bland.under seasoned with two bits of steak put at each end. For a real Cornish try the butchers up the road.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

They weigh a ton still and are bigger than any man can handle but the meat content is disappearing! Philps is THE Pasty shop bar none in Cornwall as far as I am concerned but the last couple of visits have seen the meat disappearing!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Massive and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We paid Philps a visit on the way back from St Ives. It was recommended by our host and it was indeed very good and tasty. There is a wide variety of pasties (which probably you can view online) - meat (minced beef/lamb/chicken and veg ones. I had a large pasty with minced beef while my boyfriend had a large pasty with prime beef (steak?). The pasties were superlarge and to my surprise I did not manage to eat the whole pasty myself! My boyfriend preferred my pasty (minced beef), but as I did not try his, I cannot say which one was better. The prices are also very reasonable and much lower than in St Ives (just over £3 for a large one?) and I would definitely go there on the way to/from St Ives again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
564 reviews 564 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
484 helpful votes 484 helpful votes
“just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we were in Hayle last year,we visited this highly recommended pasty bakers.The place is quite large and can be found on the sharp bend as you pass through Hayle.We had already had a pasty earlier in the day from a bakers in Camborne high st,which to this day was the best one we have all tasted.This however was full of vegetables.We asked for 4 steak pasties and ended up with 2 tiny pieces in each one.They were very filling however but not the best ones as many have stated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philp's Famous Pasties also viewed

 

Been to Philp's Famous Pasties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philp's Famous Pasties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.