We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad Hatter

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mad Hatter
Save
You added Mad Hatter to your Saves list
73 Fore Street, Hayle TR27 4DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hayle B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We called on two occasions during our stay in Hayle, one for breakfast then a Cornish cream tea. The hosts Derek and Pauline were lovely and welcoming and we will definitely visit again when we return to Cornwall. Back to the Midlands now!!! Thank you both :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
7
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
st. albans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Friendly hosts. Rooms cosy warm and clean. Food delicious. Looked after and had the real friendly touch. Breakfast filling and delicious. Felt really cared for. Recommended to all. On main road through town but really quiet. Happy for you to come and go as pleased.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable on suite or not. Laundry facilities for walkers Dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely awful. Most unhygienic filthy hovel I have ever set foot in. The welcoming words as we walked in were ... 'Yes?' Rude service tried to charge us extra then told us 'it was how they worked out tea per person which was different to the menu.'do you get it now?' She asked patronisingly. The table was covered in old food which she proceeded to wipe onto our laps. Avoid avoid avoid unless you like rude filthy rip off merchants !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Thank you for a lovely afternoon tea, scones and cakes were homemade and very tasty, service very friendly, efficent and polite. A wide range of teas available including teapigs - excellent. We will be ack again the next time we are in Hayle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've stayed at the Mad hatter a number of times now and my new husbands family have been staying there for years. Both Pauline and Derek are fantastic hosts who are always warm and funny. This visit we were on our way to get married in the Isles of Scilly and Pauline and Derek went the extra mile not only to accommodate both our families but to make our stay extra special. When we got there Pauline had decorated our room as a send off on our trip. Was a great start to a spectacular week away with family and friends. Looking forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here to attend a family function and the room was very quaint and comfortable. The room had lots of pink which I was fine with but my partner not so sure and the tiniest bathroom but I would call it a feature. The food was superb and lots of it. The couple who ran it were lovely and I would definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hostess may be the funniest person in England. Very warm and witty. The room was a bit tired, with a very pink decor. The bathroom was tiny, but I was happy that it was en suite. Great breakfast and very welcoming. They have a huge dog and a gate to keep it bounding up the stairs. It was a bit difficult to navigate.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mad Hatter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Hatter

Address: 73 Fore Street, Hayle TR27 4DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Mad Hatter Hayle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad Hatter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.