We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, tranquility and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowan Barn

Rowan Barn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rowan Barn to your Saves list
Rowan Barn
Townshend, Hayle TR27 6ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hayle B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peace, tranquility and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Incredibly warm welcome by the hosts, always on hand to help if needed. Very tasty breakfast. Clean and well kept rooms, nice touch to have fresh milk in the rooms. Although not located in a town centre it provides a good base to explore St Ives, Penzance, etc. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at Rowan Barn recently for my birthday and had an amazing time! We had a really warm welcome from Sally and Huw, offering cups of tea and sharing their wisdom on places to visit. Also there were lots of guide books and maps you could borrow about the surrounding area. Accomodation was really nice, cosy well kept rooms. Best to have a car though as you are about 7 miles away from the centre of St Ives. Great choice of breakfasts at the barn too, all eggs were from the chickens you see roaming about the place! And also had a little vase of flowers waiting for us at our table on our last day! I would highly recommend staying here if your looking for a peaceful get away with endless hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Rowan Barn's self catering 'Dairy' for the first week of June. We visit Cornwall several times a year as we love the area and have stayed in a range of self catering and B & B accomodation, but unanimously agreed that this was our favourite so far.

We were met by the owners, who were warm and welcoming and greeted us with fresh local produce from their onsite charcuterie. The accomodation itself was idyllically situated and extremely comfortable. All the facilities were to a high standard whilst retaining a homely feeling and we felt instantly relaxed from our arrival through to the end of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Just got back from a weekend at Rowan Barn, can't recommend it enough. It's so peaceful, the owners, Hugh and Sally, couldn't be more helpful and accomodating (from greeting us with coffee, to offering us a lift to pick our car up this morning). The photos on the website don't really do it justice either. Great breakfast - fresh eggs from the chickens in the garden. Really loved it, if only it were nearer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Excellent B&B amidst lovely countryside, well placed for St Ives, St Michael's Mount , the Lizard, Land's End, Falmouth. Sally and Hugh do everything possible for an enjoyable stay. The smallholding chickens and pigs provide eggs, bacon, sausage for a delicious breakfast (there is smoked haddock too) and there is a variety of homemade jams. Evening meals may be available which may include Hugh's charcuterie. The dining area and lounge and the 3 B&B bedrooms are in two Cornish stone converted barns with plenty of room to sit outside on a verandah or in the garden. 4star English Tourist Office rating.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My partner and I were only staying in the Penwith for a couple of nights and I stumbled on this wonderful place through Bookdirectrooms.com. I'm so glad I did. The Barns are beautifully converted with two main buildings one of which houses and airy bright breakfast room where Hugh or Sally cook the breakfasts in front of you. They have pigs and chickens on the land meaning eggs are fresh and Hugh apparently makes his own pork sausages which I have to say were absolutely scruptious. They also do evening meals if you let them know in the morning. Our room was very clean and bright with low ceilings typical of a real Cornish Barn feel, very comfortable and very cosy with fresh milk, tea and coffee facilities and a flat screen tele. They have paid great attention to the bathrooms which are white bright and spacious, something often lacking in other places which tend to cut costs in this area. It was peaceful, relaxing and the hosts very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

We will certainly be back.....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The owners made us feel so welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very tasty. The place is very quiet and peaceful.
We certainly will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rowan Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Barn

Address: Townshend, Hayle TR27 6ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hayle
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Rowan Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowan Barn Hayle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rowan Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.