We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toms holidays and the Bluff inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toms Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toms Holidays
3A Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Hayle, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Hayle
Essex
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Toms holidays and the Bluff inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

we stayed in a small holiday home on the Toms site,it was really well equiped, a home from home, it was the best holiday ever, a lot of walking was involved so not good for people with walking problems as lots of ups and downs, but we luckily could cope, the views were fantastic, especially in the evening as the sun was going down over St Ives, and staff very friendly, views from the holiday home were great, there is nothing nicer than waking up and eating your breakfast looking out over St Ives Bay. The Bluff inn, was about 5 minutes slow walk away, the food there was really good, and good sized helpings, and the staff very friendly, would definitly go again, we were very lucky with the weather the week we had in June 2013.

Room Tip: get a holiday home with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We were particularly pleased that you found our staff friendly and the property to be clean and homely. We really want all our guests to have an enjoyable holiday. We all are enthusiastic about the fabulous location of our site and are thrilled when guests share our enthusiasm. We hope to welcome you back to Toms Holidays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in f48 tamarisk, due to a lack of funds this year we decided to stay in a chalet instead of a holiday cottage nearby. The chalet was filthy, black mould on the bedroom walls, paint peeling off doors, sofa was filthy, a rusty nail for a bathroom lock, dirty plates, but worst of all was the rubber bath mat which was covered in black smelly mould and a collection of pubic hairs, please see photos.The location itself is amazing with views to die for, however this particular chalet let Toms holidays down. Who ever is responsible for cleaning needs a kick up the a*se as I found it shocking that these things had been overlooked. The kettle didn't work unless I stood there with my finger on the button. All these problems are totally unacceptable. After a 7 hour journey we just wanted to relax, but due to the grime we spent most of the week out and about and every evening in the pub.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We at Toms were extremely sorry that you found the property to have the various problems you described. Certainly F48 Tamarisk should have been prepared properly for your arrival, and as you found it otherwise, we would like to sincerely apologise.
We are extremely disappointed that the issues you found were not reported to our office during your stay. Although it is not what we would wish to hear, we are grateful to customers who report any difficulties, as this gives us the opportunity to address problems. We could have quickly and easily supplied a new kettle, bath mat and lamp from our stock here in the office. We would have been happy to have disposed of the old and supplied any new equipment you may have needed.
Had we known about the problems you found, we would have done everything we could to rectify them, so that you may have had a happier stay. We have our own cleaners and workmen on site ready to deal with any problems.
We have taken note of but had already dealt with the issues you raised in your review. We have had discussions with the cleaner who certainly should have reported the problems to us, so that they could have been dealt with before your arrival. Here at Toms we have a wide variety of properties to select from, but every customer should be confident that, whether they choose a basic chalet or a more luxurious property, it should be ready for them when they arrive.
We take customer care and satisfaction extremely seriously and all reported problems are discussed in office meetings in order to prevent the same issues reoccurring. We want all our guests to have an enjoyable holiday and will do what we can to achieve that.
We were glad to note you have enjoyed the park on a previous stay with us here and hope that one day we may welcome you back to Riviere Towans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although the weather let us down most of the week,we had a nice holiday.the site was well kept and the staff were friendly and helpful.We was only a few miles drive from st ives and penzance and they were both very beautiful places to visit and on the days we went to these places the sun was shinning it was magical,had the weather been better there was lots more places to see but we found it hard to brave the wind and rain after getting caught out whilst taking a nice stroll along the sandy beach on what started out as a lovely sunny morning to end up soaked to the skin and frozen to the bone. The only thing that we was,nt happy about was our chalet,although no one can help the weather and we new that we should expect the worse ,we did,nt expect it when we entered our chalet.We stayed at E20 The Firs.On first sight we noticed how small it was , it was surposed to sleep four to six, there was one double bed ,very small with mould on the wall at the head of the bed,two very small bunk beds in a very small room and cob webs in the corners in all the rooms, also the toilet/shower room looked dirty ,so in all we was very disappointed with the chalet so that was the only thing that really spoiled our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We were glad to hear that you felt the site was well kept and the staff were friendly and helpful. Certainly we are close to many of the attractions which West Cornwall has to offer. We were sorry to hear that you felt that the property was not prepared properly for your arrival. This is something we feel strongly about because despite the age of the property, it should be cleaned thoroughly and properly. You also mentioned at the office that a blind was broken. The owner has now replaced all the blinds. When you reported the issues to the office, we were sorry that you declined our offer to help and to send a supervisor to the property to rectify any problems. Although it is not what we would like to hear, we are glad when visitors inform us of any issues and allow us a chance to address problems immediately, and hopefully make our visitor’s stay more enjoyable. All reported issues, including cleaning, are discussed in office meetings to try to avoid the same issues happening again. As far as the size of the property is concerned, it is one of our smallest. It is only ever advertised, offered and let for four people and there should never be more than that number staying there. We, at Toms Holidays always strive to give good customer service and want all our visitors to have a most enjoyable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and myself are here as I type this review. We are both in our mid to late sixties and both have difficulty walking far due to osteoarthritis. Neither of us are what you would call 'fit', myself worse than my wife.

Firstly the chalet - C41 Windmills.......The views are amazing but slightly spoilt by the double glazing having smears on the inside (condensation got in?) but it never really spoilt anything.

The chalet easily sleeps six and is very spacious and very clean on arrival. The three piece was a nice change from the old and tired caravan seats we have been used to over the years even though it is a little dated and tired looking, it is comfortable.

Toms Holidays is a place I would highly recommend based on this chalet and the warm and pleasant welcome I received on getting the keys. I was given a nice pack of tourist information which was useful. It is a very clean site and beautifully quiet (but it is May 18th - 25th)

We tried walking to the Hayle Estuary Beach on the first day but have to admit we got as far as the cliffs and gave up the idea. I believe there is a easier walk to the beach through Toms site in the other direction and will try that later in the week.

Driving to St Ives is not difficult, parking for the day at Smeatons Pier Car Park, on Monday, meant we were at the end of the shops and no hill climbing back to the car as we experienced painfully on Sunday when we parked in Barnoon Car Park - painful walk down and painful walk back up!

We found finding our way out of St Ives a lot more difficult with the sat nav failing constantly to guide us (and others we saw struggling too)

If you want the modern shopping mall experience, then Cornwall is not the place for you. It is full of the smallest streets I have ever seen cars trying to drive through or we have walked through but some lovely little shops and plenty of pasty or cake shops if that it what you want amongst fantastic gift shops, varying massively in what they sell - from £1.99 mugs to £3,000 old guitars!

The art galleries are amazing and when we came here years ago, I always regretted not buying a print from the best maritime artist I have ever seen 'Donald MacLeod' and so I made sure I bought one this time. The man himself is a very friendly gent and was most welcoming. Also loved the paintings/prints by Hilary Mayes - check them both out at www.stivesgallery.co.uk

The weather not so nice, after a glorious weekend, so today we are off to Flambards for the exhibitions not the rides. Flambards do days with just the exhibitions open and days when the rides are also open.

For our 'shopping kick' we will most likely visit Truro later in the week.

I think it is best if you are prepared to drive around but there is a bus stop close by and a shop just along from the reception area near the haven site

Finally, the coin in the slot meter. This is something I was worried about having read a couple of reviews and can imagine with the weather being cold and using the electric heaters in the rooms for a family and the water heater, it could work out expensive but adding it to the price of the chalet would be impossible in my opinion. For two of us, we only need to heat one room and i reckon we will get by on a tenner for the week but must admit we brought our own Halogen heater as that is very cheap to run and at our ages, cutting the cost is a must.

Sorry if I have rambled on but wanted to give people a genuine all round view as seen by me.

Toms Holidays is highly recommended but remember, we can only judge that on our stay in C41 - Windmills. Hopefully we will come back when we can afford to

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you found the property to be the site to be well kept and staff to give you a warm and friendly welcome. We try hard to give our visitors a happy holiday. We are negotiating with our owners to have all the meters in the properties removed by next season and in fact many have already removed them. Please see the filter option “ electricity included” when booking. We were also glad to hear that you would recommend Toms Holidays and look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Still on a 2 week break in Jupiter C37 & Loving it - Chalet comfortable , clean and well equiped and in a quiet area of the park overlooking the stunning views to St Ives & Carabis Bay with Stunning Sunsets, the only objection is to the slot meter for the electricity think it should be included in the price but apart from that I think it is a totaly lovely unspoilt park great for all ages and spectacular beaches - nice to have a local the Bluff if you fancy a few drinks and food - overall have loved it and it is a great site for exploring the rest of Cornwall - dont miss going to The Lizard and Polpeor Cafe there - service is second to none, food amazing and views to die for, Minack Theatre is a must to while your down here well worth the visit .
Would not be looking forward to going home but I have a beautiful new Grandaughter - Bella to go & meet - that will soften the blow for sure.
Have a great Holiday all

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Great to hear you are enjoyed your holiday and thank you for taking time to write your review. We are also pleased to hear that you found the property to be well equipped comfortable and clean. Your comments are interesting as we, at Toms Holidays, are hoping to work with our owners to have the electricity meters removed from properties. We feel they are an unnecessary inconvenience and hope to have the majority removed by next season. We do have some properties on site which have already taken this step. A18, B41, D59, F75 and hopefully others will follow. Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again to Toms Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed as a party of 4 adults and 2 dogs in A19, Eatondale. The chalet was clean and comfortable with great views of the Hayle Estuary and St Ives across the water, it has 3 bedrooms and would sleep 6 but the rooms are small so I would not want to fill it to capacity.The site itself is low key, don't expect facilities beyond a couple of sandpits/ swings, recycling bins and parking. Come for the great beach and peace and quiet and you won't be disappointed.Tom's Holidays manage a lot of the chalets which are privately owned and unique, our experience of Tom's was good with efficient booking and wifi services.

Room Tip: Opt for a chalet with views, amazing, and if you can, go for one slightly larger than you actually n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our site is low key in that we don’t have any club houses or organised entertainment. Over the years generations of families have enjoyed the unspoiled beauty of the sand dunes and three miles of beach and found that the site has the space and sense of freedom to unwind and relax. We let about 125 of the properties on site and hopefully, with all the properties being privately owned and completely different, there will be something to suit all tastes and budgets. We were also pleased to hear you felt your booking was dealt with efficiently and the wifi service was good. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in C15 Seamore and what a spot. The location is second to none and the view as you emerge through the shrubbery to the sea is breath taking.

The chalet is quite charming and the decor lovely. Beds are really comfy and had great nights sleep. Kitchen very nice and well equipped - the perfect bolthole.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomsHolidays, Manager at Toms Holidays, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. C15 is a lovely traditional beach chalet tucked into the top of the dune above the beach. Only moments from the beach, it offers convenience with privacy and as you say a lovely view across the bay to St. Ives. Glad to hear the beds are comfortable as we don’t get a chance to try them out! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toms Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toms Holidays

Address: 3A Riviere Towans | St Ives Bay, Hayle, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Hayle
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty lodging in Hayle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering beach huts / chalets to luxury properties. Views over St Ives Bay and right next to the 3 miles of golden sand of Hayle beach. Swim in some of the warmest waters in the UK. Easy access to most of west Cornwalls tourist attractions and quaint sea side villages and pubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tom`s Holidays Hotel Hayle
Toms Holidays Hayle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toms Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Toms Holidays to your Saves list