We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique by the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Llawnroc Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Llawnroc Hotel to your Saves list
The Llawnroc Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Boutique by the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The location is fantastic – it is in the small hamlet of Gorran Haven, only a few hundred metres from the sea. The exterior didn't look so impressive but once inside you can see a lot of effort has gone into creating this hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated and felt luxurious, with an enormous and super-comfortable bed. I also found it very quiet and slept really well. If you get bored gazing at the sea, there's a large selection of DVDs and games. The bathroom was also plush and the toiletries were gorgeous. Everything was bright and gleaming. There's a nice choice of cooked breakfasts, plus the usual cereals and juices. The eggs Benedict were delicious. The young staff seemed generally pleasant and polite.
I didn't care for the bar and dining room as much as the bedrooms; the public areas just seemed rather characterless, although I liked the enormous windows looking over the sea. In sunny weather it may have had a totally different atmosphere! We ate in the hotel restaurant, the Gwineas Bistro, one evening. The food was OK, but not outstanding (I've written a separate review).
Overall though, I'd certainly recommend Llawnroc for a short break. It's a stylish and comfortable hotel in a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea, rather than at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    67
    38
    24
    19
See reviews for
65
207
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been coming to the Llawnrock Hotel restaurant for Sunday lunch fairly frequently over the last 18 months. We have usually been very pleased with the standard of cooking, particularly the roasts. Today, however, my husband chose the roast beef and said it was
over-cooked and tough. He thought it had been heated up. The service was poor with an over-long wait between courses. On the positive side the starters were good, John Dory for me and scallops for my husband. My pork chop with mash and peas with bacon was also very tasty. The charge of £16 for 2 courses was good value. Our bill in total was £50 which covered the two courses, a glass of wine and a latte each and nibbles of olives and yarg. The staff are all very friendly and to be able to eat outside in comfort is a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to the Llawnroc last night. The food was excellent but what staff were there were absolutely run off their feets. There were only two girls working the bar and restaurant which meant long delays with the food. We all understand about keeping the overheads down but this was ridiculous. Where was the management? sitting comfortably at home with their feet up I expect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

booked for a table of 6 on bank holiday Monday for 1 o'clock was rudely told that we booked for 12 so our table wasn't ready anymore, they had no beer as '' they had been so busy'' but when arrived the place was empty...suffice to say we left and had a lovely time at the barley sheaf instead..we visited this place last summer it was fantastic...such a shame..

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I am sory to hear of your experience Bank Holiday Monday. The draft beer was not quite ready to go on at the lunchtime, however we do offer a selection of bottled ales should this situation arise. We have some wonderful Tribute and Betty Stoggs now on if your passing and fancy a pint. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable time at the Barleysheaf however.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked into the Llawnroc for two nights as we had a disappointing experience at nearby Trevalsa Court Hotel in Mevagissey.

Upon hearing of our previous experience, the staff upgraded us to a more expensive sea view room, which was amazing. It really is a boutique hotel, with lovely design and quality. Everything felt just brilliant which really put us at ease.

The room had a great view over Gorran Haven and the sea, and the hotel was a nice terrace area where we caught some unexpected sunshine over a drink.

The breakfast was brilliant too, freshly cooked to order - nothing was too much trouble at all.

The staff were great, polite, friendly and helpful. It's a great location for a hotel; Gorran Haven is a superb little village with lots of nice walks and a lovely feel to it. It's also good for getting to places like the Lost Gardens of Heligan, Eden project etc.

Thanks Llawnroc!

Room Tip: The sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Llawnroc is a special place that's hard to reach but worth it. It is fresh, clean and semi-luxurious. The color scheme is black, cream and purple, the style English modern. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. Parking is in the rear of the hotel. Rooms mostly face the ocean and as the hotel is on a hill, the views from those rooms are terrific. We had room 10, a suite. It was a large room with a good-sized closet, a large sofa and coffee table slightly separate from the king bed, a desk and cabinet on either side of the French doors leading to the balcony. The bathroom was modern, user-friendly but small. Furnishings excellent. Food, too, is excellent. We had breakfast and dinner all three nights of our stay. The menu did not vary but the choice was large. Soups were better than the Michelin-starred restaurant we came from. Fish fresh and perfect. Dining room has full-sized windows on three sides so it is bright and fresh. What keeps it from being absolutely tops are minor items like tiny shampoo bottles and soap not refreshed at all during our stay, fresh flowers getting wilty, robes tiny and skimpy, safe wouldn't open unless pried with a knife or credit card. The comfort, wonderful staff and general homey ambiance make up for the tiny glitches. Just beware of Satnav directions which take you through auto-challenging Megavissy then stop before you get to the hotel's street. Also very narrow approach road is a challenge. There is a sign pointing to the hotel but we only saw it by the 4th time we approached and then we already knew where we were going. Clearer directions from the hotel would help. Calling from one's car doesn't as cell phones don't work in town. In any case it is great center for the Eden Project, Heligan and Caerhays Castle all of which are magnificent.

Room Tip: Seaview really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for raising some of the glitches that you found. We have addressed these issues. This enables us to continually improve the level of service to our guests. We hope to see you on your next trip to the U.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Really good stay and a super location. Staff excellent and vert attentive. Room was very well appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet. Sunrise over the bay was a delight. The restaurant was very good and food well presented and tasty with a good selection. All in all an excellent stay and good value.

Room Tip: Use the access via the Lost Gardens as the road between Mevagissey and the hotel is far too narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your staff with us. The chefs produce some wonderful food from the local produce, so are glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Llawnroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Llawnroc Hotel

Address: Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gorran Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Llawnroc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, comfort and a warm welcome at this stylish getaway on Cornwall’s south coast. Here you’ll find a chic retreat where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the very best that Cornwall has to offer. With its spacious rooms, stylish decor, bespoke furnishings and stunning sea views, The Llawnroc hotel in Cornwall is dressed to impress. Inside the hotel you’ll experience a contemporary living space which would not be out of place in the world’s coolest cities. But step outside and you’ll discover the rugged beauty of coast and countryside in this idyllic corner of Cornwall. Sail, surf, walk the cliffs, explore the local beaches or stay in and soak up the splendour of The Llawnroc. And when it’s time to eat you can sample fresh local cuisine prepared by our renowned chef Neil Martin. At The Llawnroc we are obsessed with quality and committed to excellent personal service. Every detail at this luxury Cornwall hotel has been designed to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Visit us soon to experience this simply stunning escape for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Llawnroc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Llawnroc Hotel Gorran Haven, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Llawnroc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.