We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Llawnroc Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Llawnroc Hotel to your Saves list
The Llawnroc Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“Always a treat......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This superb hotel continues to suffer from low occupancy. The best efforts of some very committed and conscientious staff will be futile unless allied to an effective and relevant marketing strategy for the business. I sincerely hope this can be achieved as I for one enjoy very much staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us. We are also currently implementing a new marketing strategy. We hope to welcome you back for your third stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    67
    39
    24
    19
See reviews for
66
208
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I surprised my partner with a meal and night away, all i can say is fantastic hotel, the decor, food, location all spot on, the one thing that stood out for us, were the staff, very friendly welcome and service at all times, a big thank you to natasha, made our stay. we will be back.

Room Tip: room 8, sea view and fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. The team thrive on delivering exceptional service to all our guests, it is fantastic to know they are doing such a great job. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from our 2nd visit to Llawnroc & it was fantastic! We took advantage if the PL or TR postcode deal & took are 2 children. Fantastic room, amazing evening meal. Can't wait to go back for a 3rd time!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your second stay with us and took advantage of our TR and PL offer. We all look forward to seeing you for stay number three!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is excellent. The room was very nicely furnished and a great size. We had a suite but I understand the standard rooms here are on the large size too. There was also a balcony which had a sea view so that was nice in the morning. We had a breakfast rate and opted to have it delivered to the room every morning. The staff are really friendly , excellent even. It is true that they are rushed off their feet in the evening dinner service but I didn't mind waiting a little longer and I am sure they will rectify that. Special mention for 'Nicky' who was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return.
Gorran Haven was also a really nice retreat type village.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of having breakfast delivered to your room. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the staff, they all work exceptionally hard to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable time and your comments show they are doing a wonderful job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a great Hotel, the staff were excellent. Rooms are excellent also. If you need a base to discover Cornwall this is the place to be. However if you are wanting one place to be there is not much more here except the local post office and chipshop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned we are in a perfect spot to explore Cornwall and although the un-spoilt village of Gorran Haven may not be for everyone, the beaches are beautiful and there are some spectacular views to be had from the costal paths. We hope you choose to stay with us again when you next visit Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friend at work had no hesitation in recommending the Llawnroc when, in conversation, I mentioned I was looking for somewhere to take my wife to celebrate ten years together. He had me in something of a state with his tales of the excellent breakfasts and well appointed Room 8 so I booked without hesitation being offered a deal of £250 per night with evening meal thrown in. Expensive, but it's not every day I get to compensate my wife for spending ten years with me...

The first day's afternoon we spent in the bar area doing things that three little boys under six ban me from doing; relaxing, reading the paper and chatting to wifey. Dinner that evening was lovely, service excellent and we retired to our room overlooking the welcome letter to the hotel addressed to someone else, the slow draining basin and the short bed.

Looking forward to breakfast I leapt from bed and rushed downstairs to be met by.... a 'continental' breakfast which us stout English types know is a euphemism for a crap breakfast. And crap it was. Well done toast, yoghurts and a choice of chocolate based cereals wasn't the smoked haddock fable my mate had regaled me with. No-one had informed us that due to a quiet, off-season period the breakfast's quality had been pared back. Still, we kept our counsel and ventured out for the day.

Dinner that evening was a vastly different experience service wise in that it was very poor but quite familiar menu wise as it was largely the same but with the more quality high end items missing and available to non-resident diners for mere £16 a pop for three courses. We sat down at half seven, ordered scallops for starters only to be told that these had already ran out. How many were ordered in? Two? Service was friendly but intermittent and chaotic with our table not completely laid up with required items and a request for water being met with a plastic jug that contained around 500 litres being plonked on the table. Consequently I had fish and chips (which were lovely) on both nights. The cheesecake dessert was divine and had my heart worried with every mouthful.

We fully expected a non stop stream of luxury but we met with tasters of what could've been. To be fair the duty manager was understanding and allowed us a discount that was in excess of the 25% being offered to those booking late and which was more reflective of our experience.

Should I be in a conversation relating to anniversary celebrations, I'll think twice before leaving myself feeling the same way my friend felt this morning when he asked how my weekend was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are all sorry to hear that your stay with us did not match your expectations. We always aim to deliver exceptional service and although things were not to your satisfaction this time, I am sure if you choose to visit again we can more than meet your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tucked away yet easy to find and not too big. What a lovely surprise from my partner to bring me here for a valentines treat. The location is a few minutes from the beach and it was very pleasant to have a walk around the village. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with mod cons a plenty. Dinner was proper lush and the service was amazing. The bar is hotel prices but they serve lovely cold rattler cider which is my boyfriends fave. There was a valentines parcel in the room which included chocolate body paint, yes truly... The breakfast in bed with proper tea and homemade granola was yum and arrived dead on time. Loved the sea view and I can imagine the patio would be splendid in the summer. Lots to see and do a short drive or coastal walk away. Thanks to the staff especially the ladies at dinner but all marvellous. I could go on but what I've missed I'm sure others haven't.

Room Tip: Car park or view, pay a bit extra if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llawnroc022, D.Wadsworth-Manager at The Llawnroc Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you enjoyed you surprise valentine break with us, and all the goodies in our valentine parcel. Thank you for the really kind comments regarding the staff, all of whom are thrilled you had such a great stay. You will have to come back in the summer and try the cider on the patio, watching the sun go down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Llawnroc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Llawnroc Hotel

Address: Chute Lane, Gorran Haven PL26 6NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gorran Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gorran Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Llawnroc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, comfort and a warm welcome at this stylish getaway on Cornwall’s south coast. Here you’ll find a chic retreat where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the very best that Cornwall has to offer. With its spacious rooms, stylish decor, bespoke furnishings and stunning sea views, The Llawnroc hotel in Cornwall is dressed to impress. Inside the hotel you’ll experience a contemporary living space which would not be out of place in the world’s coolest cities. But step outside and you’ll discover the rugged beauty of coast and countryside in this idyllic corner of Cornwall. Sail, surf, walk the cliffs, explore the local beaches or stay in and soak up the splendour of The Llawnroc. And when it’s time to eat you can sample fresh local cuisine prepared by our renowned chef Neil Martin. At The Llawnroc we are obsessed with quality and committed to excellent personal service. Every detail at this luxury Cornwall hotel has been designed to ensure you have an unforgettable stay. Visit us soon to experience this simply stunning escape for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Llawnroc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Llawnroc Hotel Gorran Haven, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Llawnroc Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.