We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portholland
Portholland
Portholland
Pond Meadow Cottage
King Bedroom
Open Plan Living Area
Twin Bedroom
Gorran Haven
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esther D
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“We have had a great holiday !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have stayed for two weeks at Portholland and we have had such a good time. Of course the wheather was great and we could nearly stay the whole time at the beach (when the tide wasn't high).
To be in the middle of nowhere was the best thing what could happen in the holiday. My husband didn't reach any mails of his boss as his mobile didn't work at Portholland. In the house is wifi so that we were able to have a look for our private mails and some news back from Germany.
All in all we are really thinking of coming back. It was the best holiday we have ever had. The children are playing the whole time to drive to England again. ;)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The beach.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AdamtheWh...
Somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place to get away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The guys that hold the other end of my lead took me to the wonderful Pond Meadow cottage, in East Portholland, This is authentic Cornwall, quiet, peaceful, a wonderful place to stay. Jo and Kris made us all very welcome, great hosts. I met chickens and ducks for the first time, got on OK with them... They do produce the most wonderful eggs that the boss said were some of they best he had ever tasted.

This is a beautiful cosy cottage, within 50 metres of the beach, and oh what a beach, when the tide was out I could run for miles, I went in the sea, and even my two owners took their shoes and socks off and followed me in!

The cottage has everything that you would ever need, we had milk, eggs and 'bubbly' waiting, that my owners drank very quickly.

it was a good idea bringing our supplies and my dog food with us, because you are 'off the beaten track' here, but within 10 minutes you can get to the pretty village of Veryan where there is a small, well stocked shop if you forgot anything.

There are so many walks, along the costal path, and into the valleys.

We loved the place so much that I have told my owners to book again for next year, and they have, I can't wait to get back.

Pond Meadow Cottage has everything that anyone would ever need to enjoy real Cornwall, quiet, peaceful and beautiful, add to that great hospitality and you have the perfect break, we all loved it, Thank you.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pippappro...
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat, excellent access to beach and coastal walks, ideal for dog lovers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were made to feel welcome at Pond Cottage and so too was our lurcher, Wolfie. Thank you for the welcome pack of flowers, milk and........wine!!! As it is a couple of miles to any shop, best to arrive with plenty of groceries.
Great beach at low tide for the dog to run along and the walk over to Porthluney beach and cafe with the quaint Caerhays Castle was an exciting descovery. The Ship Inn at Portloe served us a belt busting carvery on Sunday - excellent after the 2 mile hike up and down the cliff path.
Perhaps an ensuite loo would make the double room downstairs more user friendly, but we really enjoyed our holiday, thanks!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Serene location, lovely view of the sea through kitchen porthole and great walks along the coast paths.
Liked least: Lack of shop or pub in the village, so we were dependent on driving to a shop/pub.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Arkashan
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous, dog friendly, walking area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was our first trip to Cornwall's south coast & even though it didn't 'wow us' like the north side does, we would return again to Portholland ( & of course to the lovely Pond Meadow Cottage ) as we were made to feel more than welcome with our dogs where ever we went. The coastline & surrounding countryside is very pretty & very dog-friendly, which includes the local pubs! :-) The dogs all adored the long beaches of Vault to the east & Carne/Pendower to the west, both a very pleasant walk along the coastal paths. The picturesque village of Veryan, is well worth a visit on the 'inland' walk back from Pendower.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Litter on Porthluney Beach!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
hayleylov...
1 review
“Great place to stay but abit out of the way for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Loved the cpttage great view would be great in the summer just abit out of the way for us as we had a baby and the nearest ship was half hour away for us there is a shop there but only opens once a week lucky the owners parents were next door and very helpfull with everythink :) it has a lovely beach to that would be great in the summer the cottage was great very clean and tidy and warm at night which is a plus with a baby only problem was the privouse people that stay obv used the washing machine when washingssomething for there dog so there where dog hairs in the washing machine and our clothes got coved in them :( overall the cottage is lovely woth great views and very quiet just to pjt of the way for us

3 of 5 stars Value 2 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rachel P
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Week!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a fabulous week the weather was really good only had 2 mornings of rain so pretty good considering.
The cottage was perfect,Jo made it very welcoming with her little extra's.We took all our food for the first few days with us but there are 2 supermarkets in Turo about 13 miles away. There is nothing in Portholland at all so if you need supplies doi it before.
It was in a lovely quiet location,the cove did get busy when the tide was out and the sun,but we loved it and would recommend it.We are a family of 5 and the kids were able to go rock pooling every morning when the tide was out it entertained them for hours and we would take a cupa tea and sit with our deck chairs and watch the world go by.......It was so relaxing.
The cottage was very comfortable,especially the beds we all slept well.I used the washing machine and dryer quite a bit which was so handy.Jo and Chris gave us chicken and duck eggs which were lovely and the view across the pond was fantastic in the mornings.
I can't rate it enough a amazing week and Jo and Chris are lovely people.
Oh a little tip is they have a BBQ so take coals and firelighters.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The Location
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
KimandTon...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our weeks stay at Pond Meadow cottage exceeded all our expectations. We chose it because they welcomed dogs and the beaches in the area are dog friendly. The three bedroomed cottage was tastefully decorated and included everything you could possibly need. It has its own little fenced garden and overlooks a delightful duck pond and a relatively secluded sandy beach on the doorstep. We enjoyed scenic coastal walks, kayaking and swimming. There were plenty of other activities within the area and we can recommend visiting the Lost Gardens of Heligan, St Mawes and St Just Church. The highlight was going on a two hour fishing trip from Mevagissy Harbour led by Matt in which we caught enough fish for 4 meals (a bargain @ £13 pp).
We all had a fabulous time and will definitely be visiting again soon.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location - beautiful unspoilt clean beaches and countryside
Liked least: slipway to the beach rather steep
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$681
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Joanna F
44 1872501178
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2009
Response Rate: 55 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 39 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing