We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay - Beautiful setting. Car essential.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cormorant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cormorant Hotel to your Saves list
The Cormorant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golant PL23 1LL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay - Beautiful setting. Car essential.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked this hotel for two nights via Booking.com and were allocated room 7. This was a reasonably sized room with a full balcony with a superb view up-river. We really took advantage of the balcony with its table and chairs as the weather was hot and sunny. We did get a Wi-Fi signal in this room.
We received a good welcome on arrival and were escorted to our room. All staff were courteous and polite. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was really enjoyable. Prior to the meal, we were shown to the lounge where we could order drinks and view the menu. Once we had ordered, we were given canapés to go with our drinks. Once our meal was ready, we were escorted to the dining room.
The first morning was bright and sunny and tables were laid out on the decking as well as in the dining room – we chose to eat outside and had a most enjoyable breakfast. On the second morning, I did have a problem with my cooked breakfast, which was replaced at my request.
The drive up to the hotel is steep as mentioned in other reviews.
The pool and sauna are at the far end of the car park away from the hotel and accessed by a gated entrance with a coded lock – reception will give you the code. Towels are available on entering the pool area. There are loungers and tables and chairs and an outside deck area for use. Only one changing room with a glass door and no-where to store your clothes.
Because it was warm, we slept with our windows open. At 05:30 on the first we were woken up by the alarms on the level crossing in front of the hotel (the railway runs between the hotel and the river), shortly afterwards a freight train crawled past. Ok, it gave us a chance to see the sunrise. A one-off we thought, but the same thing happened again the next morning at the same time. Since breakfast is served until 10.00, we had the opportunity to lie in. The freight train returns sometime later in the day.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Cormorant.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    59
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
4
159
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

All the staff were excellent both friendly and most helpful without being intrusive. Our room was not large but ok, we had a Juliet balcony which overlooked the Fowey and gave the great views mentioned elsewhere. The en-suite had a good sized bath and shower. Both rooms were spotless during our brief two night stay. Bar and lounge areas very comfortable and clean, the furniture reflects a family owned hotel. Golant is a pretty little village: I learnt from a local that it is now consists of mainly holiday lets and summer/second homes, lucky them. The local pub is great with outside seating overlooking the river.
Every review has mentioned the river views and rightly so they are stunning, particularly so from the elevated position of our room.
The breakfast menu gave a good selection of hot and cold dishes, the quantity and quality of which were both very good.
The price is high that is why I have marked the hotel down to average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Delusions of grandeur at the Fawlty towers of Gotland. Quite simply - overpriced!
There's a reason there are no steps down from this hillside hotel - so you can't escape.

Great view though...

Tired exterior leads to a miss match of homely,chic & shabby interior. Promised by the website pictures of lovely rooms, we ventured on. Flashbacks to Holiday inn's awaited in the upper corridor, dimly lit with bedroom doors(screaming 70's style office firedoor at you) as our superior room awaited. Once inside the view cheered the soul, then was lost as you took in the room.
Too small for the price
Budget tv
Shabby wardrobe doors trying to be chic
An En-suite you would find in an institution
Wonky sockets with paint dribbles
Juliet balcony - ideal if no other guests are staying - private it is not

If the Nhs did superior rooms - this would be it

Great view though....

Desperate for encouraging signs - we headed to the pool/spa

Nicely empty with the sun shining in, it was looking good.

Single changing room with nothing to do with your clothes, except take them with you
Automatic light as you went in but pull switch for a-joining shower room?
Delightful view on web from hot tub - not when your in it though(windows wrong height)
4 gentile lengths in the pool had entrance flooded - obviously flooring not laid to fall towards
drainage.

Great view though...

Having made it to the great local for dutch courage before dinner, we took are table.

Friendly staff, well versed, good food.

Tired plants and hose reel - not a good look

Re-venture back to local, down daring gradient, definitely not grabbing the shaky guard rail as we head down the slippery slope.

Great view though...

Signs,signs and more signs

Your toilet has been sanitised for your covenience - I should hope so (looked more csi to me)
Your internet is being monitored - if you got any
Don't take the books - Got to get your £2.50 for a robe back some way or another!

Great view though...

Luckily had 3 nights not to far away to recover.
Slightly cheaper, bigger room, fluffy robes, not a sign in sight, how a boutique hotel should be.

Owners - book yourself in... or charge £60 less.. I would

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked this hotel 'cold' from their website which has a very contemporary design and led us to believe that we were booking a 'boutique' hotel. Imagine our horror when we drew up and the reality was far from what the website leads you to believe. It is a mustard coloured building with rooms boxed next to each other like a motel; there is very little privacy as the next balcony can see into your bedroom; the walls are paper thin too! Let's start with the good things - the view is fantastic; the pool building could be fantastic but when we were there the entire entrance was flooded with 1 inch of water. The food I thought was of good quality, however when my main course arrived the potato dauphinoise was still wrapped in a piece of plastic. When I complained I got a 'sorry' from the chef!!!!! Any self-respecting hotel/restaurant would have immediately refunded the cost of the meal. Unbelievable. The main problem really, is that this hotel charges 'boutique' prices without delivering the boutique experience. I have stayed in many hotels and never paid the prices that I did here for such mediocre return. Really sad as if the prices were dropped, then you might think that the hotel was actually good value for money. It trades on it's view, which is nothing to do with the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone sadly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a picturesque place on the banks of the Fowey River.
Cracking views from all rooms, especially poignant when misty.
We had a room with full balcony; others have Julienne balconies and some none (check the prices).
Massively steep road leads to the car park, which may put one off going by foot.
Also, the road leading to hotel may flood during high tides on the Fowey, though a detour is well documented.
Rooms comfy but not over large.
There is a small pool and hot tub in separate annexe.
Fowey itself is close by; there is not much to do in Golant itself, though there is a pub.
The food is extremely good: have full and "brasserie" menus.
I must mention Hannah/Hanah, the waitress, who is charming and very attentive.
Nice lounge (with stock of games) and bar.
Walls a bit thin and we were "lucky enough" to have Tubby Johnson ("Is he fat? You bet your hat!") snoring away below.
One slightly snooty lady on reception, quite out of synch with all other employees, which is why I have graded as "Very Good" rather than "Excellent".
Quite expensive but better value than some similar options in close vicinity.

Room Tip: Get a full balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderful setting. Very relaxing. Staff very welcoming. And a separate vegetarian menu which lived up to expectation.
Only stayed one night for a birthday treat for my husband but hopefully will revisit.
If any downside - some of the décor was a little tired but with a view like that, who wants to look at the paintwork!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

After finding this hotel online when searching for Hotels in Fowey I found this one which stated it was about 2 miles up river from Fowey. I booked it because of the good reviews and the views on the website. I wasn't disappointed. I only booked for a one night break and was given directions by the hotel staff as was told sat nav can be unreliable. Found it easily, I read some reviews that said the drive to the hotel was a bit hairy but it wasn't too bad and just a bit steep up to the hotels drive. I booked a superior room with a balcony/decked area overlooking the river. AMAZING views and such a wonderful setting, cannot be beaten and the view is worth the price alone in my opinion. Room was of a decent standard, very clean with mini bar/fridge and easy chairs with table looking out over the balcony. One thing to mention, we also booked this hotel as it stated there was wifi in all rooms. This was a must for us as mobile reception in Cornwall is patchy at best and we wanted to keep in touch with the teenagers at home! Our room was at the far end of the hotel and because of this did not receive wifi. We mentioned this to reception and they offered us a change of room which was almost identical and closer to reception where wifi signal was a 'little' better. If you are relying on the wifi mention this when booking as all rooms do not get a good signal as stated. This was really our only gripe as eveything else was lovely. The hotel itself is nicely kept with nice outside seating in the gardens and lovely restaurant. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the bar in the evenings is nice and not overly priced. Some reviewers mentioned the walls were a bit thin and could hear other guests in their rooms. We did not find this a problem, we did hear the guests above us walking around but that was all. Maybe we were just lucky with quiet guests in the rooms next door to us. It was nice to be that bit out of Fowey. Golant is a lovely little place with a nice pub. We got a taxi into Fowey and back which cost us about £7 each way. Much easier than trying to park there. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: If you want wifi mention this when booking as not all rooms get a signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cormorant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cormorant Hotel

Address: Golant PL23 1LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Golant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cormorant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel nestles on the hillside high above the magnificent Fowey River in Cornwall, close to the Eden Project. An independent luxury hotel set in a glorious location, and we pride ourselves on individual attention to all our guests. 14 guest rooms, all en-suite, all with exceptional river views, most with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cormorant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cormorant On The River Hotel
The Cormorant Hotel Golant, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cormorant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.