We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crantock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairbank Hotel
Save
You added Fairbank Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Pentire Road, Crantock TR8 5SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crantock
Knowle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

When we visit our friends in Crantock Cornwall we always stop at the Fairbank Hotel. Our stay is always very enjoyable and Elaine and Paul make you feel at home I could not fault this Hotel at all and would recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Cornwall.
We will be stopping there again in June and looking forward to it

A big thank you xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always pleased to see returning guests and look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairbank Hotel in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    11
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
68
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just had 4 fabulous days at Fairbank.
We were there for our daughters wedding and Elaine and Paul were the perfect hosts, nothing was to much trouble.
Elaine and Paul have created a cosy delightful place to stay.
Our room was comfortable and spacious, spotlessly clean, and we were able to sit up in bed and watch the sea.
Breakfast was excellent, fresh local produce, cooked to your order and good choices.
If you are looking for a peaceful, welcoming place to stay you will not be disappointed.
We are already planning our return visit.
Many thanks Elaine and Paul.

Room Tip: Trevose is a lovely spacious room, with gorgeous sea-views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in April. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that the weather was good for the wedding - wish we could take credit for that! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved the view and the bed, slept like a baby. It is a family run buisness by Paul and Elaine and coming from a very busy place like London founded very peacefull and enjoyable place to be. Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked at your order with plenty of choices. To be fair I founded more pleasant and welcoming that you sometimes find in in the 4 or 5 star hotel... I recommend it for it's simplicity, hospitality and friendliness and most if all for it's amazing view over Crantock beach..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbankredds, Owner at Fairbank Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back to the Fairbank Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I just spent four lovely days staying at the Fairbank Hotel in Crantock. It was an absolutely delightful place to spend a few days. It has a lovely homely feel and the owners Paul and Elaine are so friendly and welcoming. We had a very comfortable room with a four poster bed and spectacular views over the nearby Crantock beach. The same views can be enjoyed from the lovely airy dining room and conservatory. I must recommend the food cooked by Elaine. Even though we happened to be the only ones staying for evening meals, Elaine insisted it was no problem and produced a variety of wonderful, spectacularly tasty dishes over the four nights - the sea bass was to die for. The breakfasts each day were equally good.
We have rarely stayed anywhere with a more welcoming, warm atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are ones with wonderful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Fairbank  Hotel in Crantock  is  a totally refurbished family run hotel with fantastic ocean and rural views. We found it easy to enjoy the warm afternoon sun as it streams through the downstairs conservatory windows.
Paul ,Elaine and family have created a great space to relax in , we felt very comfortable in their  'home' and were sad to leave.
We enjoyed awesome home cooked meals prepared by the 'bare foot chef'.
The beach is a mere stroll through recently harvested fields . 
Crantock is close to busy Newquay and other tourist loaded towns.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 24 August 2012-27 August 2012. It is a family run hotel and the owners are absolutely lovely.

The views, which both the conservatory and breakfast area benefit from are amazing. The hotel has a really lovely cosy homely feel to it and the owners could not have done any more to welcome us and accomodate our needs. We arrived quite late on the Friday night (around 1145pm) due to delayed flights which unfortunately meant that the owners had to wait up for us, but they were welcoming and undertanding.

Breakfast was very enjoyable, with a full english breakfast available, but also cereals, toast, croissants, and boiled egg and soldiers.

There is a really nice small bar area at the back of the hotel which was quiet and relaxing to sit in and chat with friends. We spent some time chatting to the owners in the bar and found out all about the local cornish ales (especially Betty Stoggs and her sister). We were captivated by this, and subsequently all tried a glass of Betty during the course of our holiday....even those of us who don't normally drink ale!

I would recommend having a wander around the village of Crantock itself while you are there, there are a number of thatched cottages and lovely village pubs to investigate.

I was in a party of 7 people, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I stayed in a family room, which was a good size and consited of a double bed, a single bed and a sofa bed. The room also benefitted from the beautiful view.

I will certainly be recommending this place to friends and family, and I would stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having just returned from a long weekend stay at the Fairbank Hotel, I can honestly say there are no faults! We were made to feel welcome in to the family run hotel from the moment we walked through the door. Elaine could not do enough to help, making restaurant reservations and booking taxis. (You must try Odds Restaurant, truly scrummy) The local area is a delight, with local pubs within easy walking distant serving good food. Crantock beach is a 10 minute walk away and is great for exploring the caves and a spot of crabbing. We had a double room over looking Crantock beach, it had a good size bathroom with a lovely powerful shower. What more could you ask for, lying in bed looking at the waves crashing in, couldn’t be any more relaxing. We will defiantly be returning

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbank Hotel

Address: West Pentire Road, Crantock TR8 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Crantock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crantock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairbank Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairbank Hotel is a family run small hotel perfectly located in a tranquil, traditional Cornish country village by the sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairbank Hotel Crantock, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairbank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.