We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, friendly Caravan Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Crantock Beach Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crantock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Crantock Beach Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean - Crantock Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Crantock | Cornwall, Crantock, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, friendly Caravan Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We've just got back from a week's stay at Crantock Beach Holiday Park, one of Parkdean's sites.

Starting at the beginning, we arrived early and the caravan we had booked was not ready, which is no fault of theirs, but they took our number and told us they'd call when ready. The reception staff were very friendly.

Once in the caravan, it was clean and tidy, if a little dated, but we expected this as we had taken our dog with us, and were allocated one of the older vans. That said, everything worked and it fitted our needs so no complaints on that front.

The site itself is very clean and tidy, and all of the staff were pleasant and friendly at all times. Some of the newer caravans looked very comfortable indeed, so I think you'd have to have pretty high expectations to turn up having booked one of the higher spec vans and be disappointed.

The park is dog friendly, and has a field at the bottom of the site for exercising dogs. The short walk to the beach goes through this. Have to say the beach was really nice, and the general atmosphere around the site was very friendly.

The shop on site was more than adequate, although the bar and chip shop/diner on site weren't open until late afternoon, possibly due to it being early on in the season. what we did eat on site was decent quality though, if a little pricey. There are a couple of pubs in Crantock village though that offer a change, and both are only 5 minutes walk away.

Access to the site is via a single track lane, and we did have to back up a couple of times to let people pass, but it's not a s bad as we read on other reviews. Just take it steady, common sense really.

Ideally situated for exploring Cornwall. Only 10 minutes drive from Newquay, 20 minutes from Perranporth and less than an hour from St Ives.

Overall an enjoyable place to stay, but maybe a bit too quiet for those looking for action 24/7. Kids well catered for on the evening, with a Kids hour around 7pm, and entertainment from 9pm for the grown ups.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    49
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
73
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Absolutely loved our short break here and would definitely return again. We used the Sun £9.50 Holiday promotion so it was great value. Caravan was spacious, clean with everything you needed and we were lucky enough to have a sea view. The staff were kind enough to let us check in early (at 10am) as we drove through the night to avoid traffic (from Newcastle) and got there a lot earlier than expected!
There is a very small amusements on site and a park with fun golf next to it so there was plenty to keep our son happy. The bar did not have much in the way of entertainment but there was bingo, childrens activities (during the day), good food (albeit a bit pricey) and the staff were excellent. They were more than happy to give you lots of advice and tips on where to go and tried their best to keep the children entertained. The small beach was amazing but the weather was pretty poor when we visited so we didn't get to enjoy it as much as we would have liked. It is very close to the site but the hill you have to walk down to access it is pretty steep and may not suit travelers with disabilities.
We were able to visit Newquay regularly, and our trip to Lands End didn't take too long but you definitely need a car as the site is very much off the beaten track. The worst thing about the park is the narrow country track up to the site but that wouldn't put us off returning again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Measham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed here many times and enjoy if for my Easter break with my two girls. The vans are usually fairly new and always clean.
If I have had the need to complain its always been dealt with immediately.
I'm a keen Parkdean visitor and all the parks in Newquay are great.
The staff are helpful and the although the bar is small it's ideal for a quiet break.
You can walk to the beach from the site which isn't two bad even for my little girls and there are two pubs in the village should you need to wonder of site.
I would recommend this place to anyone who is a couple of has young children

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nothing between our caravan and the beach but grass and sand dunes! Quiet site with small but pleasant club house - we only used it for the free wifi but stuff going on if you want it. Come here for easy beach access (stunning beach!) easy walk to local pub and easy short drives to loads of great places.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is quite a small and quiet site in a fabulous location overlooking crantock beach. There is a footpath that takes you from the site straight to the beach, about a 5 to 10 minute walk. You can walk in to crantock village in about 5 minutes.
The site and caravan were very clean, there is a good site shop, bar and launderette.
Highly recommended holiday park, we will definitely return here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited in March 2013 for a 3 night break. Weather was grey, windy and very cold for the duration but we still had a great time. The location is absolutely superb with nearly all vans having a sea view of some kind towards Crantock beach and also lovely views towards the village and surrounding area. We stayed in a 'Padstow' caravan - which had 2 bedrooms and slept up to 6 people. There were just 2 of us and we found very spacious. Whilst some of the curtains / trim was showing signs of wear and tear this didn't detract at all from a van that was spacious, very well equipped, well positioned and absolutely spotlessly clean. Very sociable layout with large seating area.
The best bits from our perspective were the easy access to the beach and coast path and great location for exploring the surrounding area. There is a path from the park, across a field and down to the beach (takes about 5 minutes). Also a path or the road to the village (again 5 - 10 minutes walk). The village has a store, post office and a couple of pubs. We had a great meal in the Albion, and also lunch in a cafe in the village one day.
The park was very well maintained and absoluately immaculate - even in the horrible weather we had! There is a shop which we thought was well stocked, launderette, bar/restaurant and a takeaway with dining area. Also a small amusements area and launderette - neither of which we used but if we had been there longer probably would have. The reception area has lots of information about lhe local area and a library of books too. There is also an outdoor play area and a small crazy golf type course.
The staff were the best we had come across at these parks. Extremely helpful, polite, knowledgable and just keen to do anything they could to help you enjoy your stay.
The best bits for us were the parks location, the views and easy access to the surrounding area; the great staff and good clean accommodation.
The bar / restaurant was nice enough but we think missing a trick. The food menu seemed to be a generic 'ParkDean' type menu promoting such 'delights' as 'Chicago Town Pizzas!'. We prefer freshly prepared food so that type of menu wasn't for us and with so much great local food and drink on the doorstep it's a shame that not more of it can be offered in the bar / restaurant (although the shop had local beers and some local foods and we found one of the village pubs very good). That said i'm sure had we been there a little longer we would have tried the food on site and there would be something for most people on the menu if needed (the usual burgers, fish and chips, chilli, pizzas and quite a few veggie options too).
All in all a great break and we highly recommend. It suited us, visiting as a couple at this time of year to do a bit of walking / exploring and we hope to be back with children later in the year to enjoy the beach and surrounding area for a family holiday too - something for everyone without being overly commercialised. It doesn't have the big entertainment centres that a lot of nearby parks have (although the bar has singers / bands / entertainment on some nights) but that suited us. I think there are some activities for younger children but can't be sure. We liked the park so much we've even been thinking about whether we can buy a caravan there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Return year after year with family, beautiful views, stunning location close to an amazing beach with friendly village and locals. Great pubs with local beers. Excellent for dogs, perfect for relaxing, very low mobile signal so even better. Park generally busy but quiet. Simply perfect.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean - Crantock Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Crantock Beach Holiday Park

Address: Crantock | Cornwall, Crantock, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Crantock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Crantock
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Crantock Beach Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace, quiet and each other...Sometimes that's all you need. A chance to relax and watch the world go by, and there's no better place to do that than Crantock Beach. This peaceful park, with stunning sea views, is just a short stroll from a quiet, sandy beach, sheltered by dunes. It's also just four miles from bustling Newquay with its restaurants, shops and vibrant attractions. But hey, don't even think about that until you're fully relaxed, refreshed and recharged. * A peaceful park with stunning sea views * Just a 10 minute walk to Crantock Beach * Coastal paths to Gannel Estuary & Porth Joke Beach * Gift shop and tearooms at nearby Crantock village * Close to the vibrant resort of Newquay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean Crantock Beach Holiday Park Hotel Crantock
Parkdean - Crantock Beach Holiday Park Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Crantock Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.