We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finnygook Inn

Finnygook Inn
Crafthole PL11 3BQ, England
01503 230338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Crafthole
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Will always go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Have had a few meals here and from living in his area for a number of years it's been a pleasant surprise to find such a good pub servicing great food! Best thing is the atmosphere in the pub with a open fire and the smoky feel, local ales on tap and friendly staff. Food is always great quality and quick to come out. Portion size is also great and cost is reasonable. Will be going back soon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowrider186258, Manager at Finnygook Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It's lovely to receive such positive feedback. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    44
    23
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Yes, the service may be a tad slow on a busy Friday ... but the food was amazing.
I had the hamburger and it was the best I have had in a while. I come from Canada & I've had good burgers. This one compared to the best I've had.
We also ordered the sausage & salmon - all good & tasty and hefty.
The onion rings were huge (a bit too greasy for my taste) but tasty nonetheless.
We had the toffee cake and dark chocolate and it was grand!
Recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowrider186258, Owner at Finnygook Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Sorry the service may have been a little slow but all our food is fresh and cooked fresh. Nice to hear such a positive response to our burger , especially from a Canadian who must know what a "proper " burger means. Thank you once again and nice to know we are on the right track .
Earle Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wouldn't even score it a 1 but there's not an option for 0”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location however please note:
- Rude, obnoxious front of house staff who would benefit from attendance at a customer service course
- Room was filthy
- Will not be recommending this pub to friends or family
- Highly dissatisfied customer!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Staff were polite, food was abysmal, ham and mustard baguette was a brown roll with a slice of ham and almost in edible due to too much mustard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowrider186258, Manager at Finnygook Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Sorry if the chef was a bit mustard heavy! I will warn him to be more careful! I just wish you had said something so we could have made you something else. As for the baguette being a roll, we have fresh bread delivered daily and unfortunately he was running late so we only had foccacia bread available. I did mention this to anyone who ordered a baguette and everyone seemed ok with this. I hope you will come back and try us again... I can personally recommend the fish finger baguette (fresh, battered haddock goujons.. not birds eye!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic dog friendly pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Loved the staff, service food and welcome
There was nothing to complain about, ignore the crap reviews

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowrider186258, Manager at Finnygook Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks! We pride ourselves on being dog friendly.. our best customer is Norman the dog and we even had an escaped lamb running around the pub the other day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnygook Inn also viewed

 
Downderry, Cornwall
 

Been to Finnygook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finnygook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.