We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my bolthole for stressfree stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treglos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Treglos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treglos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road, Constantine Bay, Padstow PL28 8JH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kids Stay Free !!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Constantine Bay
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“my bolthole for stressfree stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have been visiting Treglos now for more than five years. To us it is a bolthole we can go to and recharge our batteries.The food is fantastic with plenty of choice. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff and any problems are solved without fuss. If you go on a repeat visit you will be welcomed like a member of the family, and any special requirements will have been noted from before.I had an accident last year and now cannot get in or out of a bath - no problem we are now given a room with walk-in shower and seat. The beds are very comfy and there is extra bedding always available should you need it.The spa is an added bonus for me with treatments very reasonably priced. We have been at all times of the year and the welcome is just as warm whenever we go. For us this is a five star experience and we would recommend Treglos Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: disabled rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
This is such a nice review and I am especially pleased that we have been able to respond to any special requirements in a favourable manner. We all look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    32
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
102
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant in all ways location room food staff hotel itself the owners should be very proud cant wait to go back anybody that does not like treglos does not have class the swimming area very clean very clan shower area nice fresh clean towels for after there is a full size snooker table they even allow children to use it one word describes treglos brilliant

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Owner at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First impressions, the room was very comfortable with a fabulous view of Constantine Bay but unfortunately it was somewhat tainted by our experience at dinner on the Friday evening. We chose the Hotel on the recommendation the food was outstanding, unfortunately this couldn’t have been further from the truth. We were rushed in at 8pm although we’d booked a table for 8.30, the Waitress had obviously been told to pester us for our order at the bar to speed things up. My Wife ordered fillet steak (medium) unfortunately a completely different cut of meat arrived, it was also very much over cooked, in fact it was inedible. I’d ordered Fish cakes, they certainly did not appear to be homemade as advertised, very big, much to much potato in the filling which made them very stodgy and certainly not flavoursome, more Findas than homemade. Another in our party ordered braised beef - another disappointment, very ordinary, the less said the better. All of the guests were rushed in and seated by 8pm, all served and finished and back out of the restaurant by 8:50! The only reason we were still in the restaurant was because we insisted that we waited a reasonable time before we ordered dessert, we weren’t in a rush and couldn’t understand why they were rushing us, the waiting Staff weren’t happy and their general persona made that very clear, not what you’d expect from a welcoming well run hotel. At 9.30 the Barman who was very polite and professional asked us if we wanted to order a drink because he was closing the bar in half an hour (10pm). it was all very rushed for some reason, perhaps the staff were being paid hourly?

I rang the Hotel a few days before to confirm my booking, this was a perfect opportunity to let us know that certain items on the menu had a 24 hrs notice on them, there’s not a lot of point letting guests know they have to give 24 hrs notice when the first time they’ve seen the menu is 15 minutes before they eat.

We certainly felt decidedly uncomfortable with the whole experience and to compound the issue we were given a frosty reception at breakfast Saturday morning. I certainly won’t be recommending them or staying with there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I'm pleased that you liked your room and lovely sea views but I'm very disappointed you didn't enjoy your dining experience. Just a couple of things in our defence, your meal was in fact booked for 8 pm possibly by another member of your party ? also it was certainly a fillet steak,(provided by one of the most reputable butchers in Cornwall) and the rustic fish cakes are definitely home made and usually very popular with our guests.
However, if you did not enjoy your dinner that is not good enough on our part. You did however refuse to have your steak or any other item replaced despite the offer to have all meals freshly cooked whilst enjoying complimentary wine. Unfortunately therefore there was really very little we could do to rectify the situation on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myself, my Husband and my 15 year old Son stayed here in August 2012, lovely greeting and shown to our room which was spacious but a little dated
Staff very attentative both in the Bar and Restaurant
Breakfast very good, only eat in the Restaurant for Dinner on one night, the food and staff were excellent
Lovely position for exploring this part of the country, facilities good especially when you come back from a days surfing (drying room for your wet suits)
When one of the staff knew my son hadn't brought his surf boat only his body board he left his surf board out for him to use (what trust)
Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your family holiday with us this summer and hope your son enjoyed his surf. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

After a very eventful trip, originlly heading to scotland, then the lakes, then made a final decision to head to Cornwall!! We contacted Padstow tourist board to find some hotels and Treglos was one that was mentioned. Your lovely staff assured me a lovely room and thats what we got!! perfect room, Perfect staff, Perfect Hotel, Perfect place!! Thank you very much! We will be back. Kerry, Dave and Charlotte x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review.We are very pleased that we could round off your trip on such a positive note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Four of us found the hotel for lunch after walking round Trevose Head from Trevone. We felt the interior to be a little overheated and stuffy so opted for the terrace in the October sun. A young man who came to take our order was incredibly attentive. The fresh crab sandwiches and seafood baquette we ordered were delicious and accompanied by a well presented side salad; it is most unusual to see such fresh salad with sandwiches. We felt well treated and although the rather staid look to the main hotel wasn't to our liking, we can't fault the service we received for the lunch. There are few alternatives in Constantine Bay so this was a good find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are all pleased you enjoyed your lunch in the sunshine. Please come and visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Treglos for a week- the latest of many weeks over 15 years.
As usual the staff were friendly but very efficient - a difficult balance,but the Treglos does it admirably. We have seen quite a few changes over the years but the standards have not been allowed to drop- the menus in the restaurant may be different but the food is still excellent with lots of locally sourced produce.The rooms have been updated but if anything is lacking it is remedied as soon as possible.Given the fantastic location- only a short walk from two fantastic beaches- and magnificent sunsets- it cannot be betterred.We have already booked again for next year!

Room Tip: If you don't have a suite go for a room with a balcony- amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyourservice89, Manager at Treglos Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday and that you keep returning to Treglos which is of course the very best recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Treglos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treglos Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Constantine Bay, Padstow PL28 8JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > Constantine Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Constantine Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Treglos Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Treglos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treglos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.