We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better late than never” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juliots Well Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Juliots Well Holiday Park to your Saves list
Juliots Well Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Juliots Well, Camelford PL32 9RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“better late than never”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stayed at Juliots Well August 2011 in a lodge with a hot tub ...we loved it !! The lodge was spottlessly clean , spacious and had everything we needed for a very comfortable great break away ...The weather wasnt great but we loved exploring the area and coming back to a gorgeous hot dip in the tub ! the entertainment , i think it was on the wednsday night was brilliant and we enjoyed a good old sing song ! we had to leave a day early unfortunately ! We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and we would definately recommend to anyone !1

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliotsWell, Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we do appreciate all feedback, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been busy since your last visit - The Coach House has had a makeover with new menu's and a great Specials board with great local Entertainment on selected dates throughout the year, We are also getting ready to put on 9 new caravans! We do hope you'll come back and see us again very soon.

Kind regards
The Juliots Well Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    24
    10
    17
See reviews for
81
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed at Juliots Well (and other sites in the area) before as we are regular visitors to North Cornwall. The position of this site is very good, being just outside the village of Camelford and within easy reach of Boscastle, Tintagel, Bude, Wadebrige, Port Isaac etc. the site also has lovely views over the surrounding countryside.
This site is quiet - there is a pub/restaurant and a childrens play area and a swimming pool (outside so open only in Summer) and ideal for use as a base from which to explore the area.
Last year we stayed in one of the cottages (Rose Cottage) by the site entrance but this year stayed in a Jasmine Lodge as it was cheaper. The lodge was well equipped although the settee sagged a little as it had obviously been well-used. Plenty of hot water and the heating was very efficient (we needed this on for a couple of evenings when the weather let us down a bit) and, as the electricity and gas were included in the rental amount, this added to the value for money.
The Jasmine lodges are for four people but I would recommend them for a couple (like us) or for people with small children as the second bedroom is rather small with narrow beds. The main bedroom was roomy with lots of storage space, the kitchen fairly well equipped and the tv, whilst rather small, was a recent flat screened model and got quite a few channels. The shower room was quite sufficient in size with constant hot water. Parking was in a car park outside our lodge and we had no problems there - our verandah overlooked this car park but also provided a lovely view over the countryside and, this being a well established site, there are also many lovely mature trees.
The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay at Juliots Well.

Room Tip: Choose a Lodge or a cottage, not a caravan as they are rather elderly looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliotsWell, Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have lots of ongoing improvements to the site that will be in place for the 2013 season, this includes 9 new caravans! We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards
The Juliots Well Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in lodge 79 for a week could not fault it so well equipped and a stunning view.Staff were very polite & helpful.We enjoyed a lovely meal in the coach house,wished the weather had been better but with so many lovely places nearby to visit we braved the elements & enjoyed what the local surroundings had to offer.deffinately will return

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliotsWell, Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate all feedback. The weather has been very unkind to us this year but we are glad to hear you managed to get out and enjoy what Cornwall has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards The Juliots Well Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights for the first time and the first time in Cornwall. The location is brilliant and excellent for touring around the area. We rented a 2 bed cottage which was OK for self catering. The kitchen is well equipped and quite modern, and the size of the cottage and courtyard was adequate for our needs. My only criticism is that the mattresses on the beds were terrible. They are obviously very old and need replacing asap! Everytime you turned over I heard springs going and we are not big people!!! The sofa and chairs in the lounge have also seen better days - this did let the property down and are quite easy to replace to bring the standards up. The highchair that we requested for our baby was given to us dirty as well and the travel cot had no mattress or sheets provided which was disappointing. The staff on reception were not that friendly, we had travelled 250 miles to get to the property and were not asked how we were or how our journey was just given the keys and that was it! No warm welcome which was a shame and again could be easily recitified.
The Coach House was pretty good for a drink in the evening and a hot meal - everything mainly with chips but it was fine for a dinner if you don't fancy cooking!
All in all, it was fine for what we needed it for but there are a few things that need doing in my opinion that could of made it so much better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliotsWell, Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review a review - we value all feedback as this helps us to improve and evolve. We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems during your recent holiday with us.
We are a busy holiday park, determined to please everyone, but aware that there are days when things don't go quite as planned. Our team are specially selected for being a caring and dedicated group, ready to help in all situations and there is always someone on hand 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
The Cottages will be undergoing some refurbishment in the coming weeks, with new sofas being the first thing to be rectified.
We are sorry that you didn’t fully enjoy your holiday with us on this occasion, but hope you will come back and give us another try in the future, and enjoy the improvements we are striving to make for the 2013 season.
Kind regards
The Juliots Well Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed at this more than 7 times in all and have always looked forward to going back, this time we were unfortunate to be there the same time as the "wedding party". The people in the lodge next to us, were very drunk, very loud and also swearing at the tops of their voices due to been drunk and this was well into the early hours of the morning. Another lodge further away sounded like there was a full blowen party on the go aswell, we did complain the next morning and the staff said they would deal with it.
The change of management has not made any difference to the helpfullness of the staff and they are as pleasant as always.
The lodges are a few years old now and showing signs of wear and tear. the carpet between the lounge and the bedrooms had a large tear and some of the drawer knobs in the bedrooms came off in your hand. we reported these problems and they were promptly dealt with. The lodges are not as well cleaned, as they used to be as there were food stains on the kitchen curtains, toothpaste spashes in the bathrooms and crumbs and hair in the cutlery drawer, the kitchen equipment is also below par or missing and i don't remember the mattresses being so hard either.
I am unsure about returning to this site, which is a real shame, but for my holiday I want it to be relaxing and quiet which is what this site should be (advertised in hoseasons) and it wasn't.
The swimming pool (outdoor) is still fantastic and the coachhouse pub is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliotsWell, Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and were naturally sorry to hear you didn’t fully enjoy your stay. We always strive to meet the expectations of our guests and apologise if there were some shortcomings during your recent holiday. All our staff are fully committed to ensuring guests have an enjoyable holiday and our team are always on hand to assist with any problems or queries guests may have during their stay. We do hope you will return to us again in the future to experience our ongoing investment and improvements.

Kindest regards
The Juliots Well Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at this site for a number of years. The location is fantastic with lots of beautiful walks, beaches and pretty cornish villages nearby. The reason we will not be coming back it's due to the rude, unhelpful owners who don't seem to even care customer service. We were not greeted, nor made to feel welcome during our whole stay. We were with a large family group and when things went wrong with the ill equipped lodges we were told that we broke them!! This included the glass shower door falling onto my frail aunt, the hot tub only being hot for 1 out of 7 days and being without electricity for a whole day. No appologies, refund for the hot tub or even any friendly recognition of our complaints. It is heartbreaking to see after so many years that the site and units have had no attention to them and many aspects need seriously updating, perhaps with managers who actually care about their potentially amazing site and make people feel comfortable on their holiday that they have saved for and been looking forward to...what a shame!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliotsWell, Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
This customer’s review is unfounded and inaccurate. This group of customers acted in an inconsiderate way during their stay and caused distress to other guests and to staff. Their behaviour was not acceptable and, as such, the entire party have been “blacklisted” as we do not wish for them to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Spent two very comfortable nights in a very clean & well appointed Jasmine lodge on a cycling trip to conquer "THE CAMEL TRAIL" which was brilliant.

All staff very helpfull & freindly to me, I was so impressed I am returning later this month with my wife & some of the family, booked a Camellia lodge for the return trip which are very impressive.

Dined in the friendly "Coach house pub" onsite, pub food was tasty & adequate but I would have liked to have seen a couple of healty options on the menu personally.

Manager Clarie is particularly helpful, all in all a very nice experience.

Pesonally having seen the whole site, I would refrain from booking a caravan as they are a bit past thier sell by date, pay a bit more for a lodge is my advise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliotsWell, Manager at Juliots Well Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you will be coming back to see us. We have a great team here at Juliots Well who are always on hand to help.
We are upgrading some of our caravans for next season and we hope you will be pleased with our ongoing improvements.

Best Wishes the Juliots Well Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Juliots Well Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juliots Well Holiday Park

Address: Juliots Well, Camelford PL32 9RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camelford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Camelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Juliots Well Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Juliots Well Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juliot`s Well Holiday Park Hotel Camelford
Juliots Well Holiday Park Camelford, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juliots Well Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.