We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peckish Fish and Chips

Peckish Fish and Chips
8 Victoria Road, Camelford PL32 9TH, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Camelford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Description: Fish and Chip Shop
Restaurant details
Description: Fish and Chip Shop
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have to say while visiting the area of camelford , Cornwall, My family and i decided we would stop for some fish and chips instead cooking at the cottage that evening, Noticing they are the only chip shop and fast food shop in the area, we went here for fish and chips....... service ...okish price....bit over the top Food .....not that good, chips undercooked, think i had more salt than chips in my box. Chicken very dry . Fish very soggy and again chips undercooked plus more salt than chips, all in all , very showy shop front, poor food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    28
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camelford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visit Peckish every wednesday after swimming lessons & the quality is always top notch... the yummiest fish & chips around!

The staff are also super friendly & efficient

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good fish n chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very nice fresh food, offer specials, very large portions, excellent value, friendly staff. recommended

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No better fish and chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

You need to visit Camelford just for the Fish and Chips at Peckish! Really professionally cooked fish and chips and a shop that is also very community minded catering for the elderly and doing charity meals. I am not telling fibs! This is really the very best of British Fish and Chip shops! Now also dementia aware - look for the purple angel awareness logo in their window.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As new visitors to the area, Peckish came heartily recommended by many different people so we had to try it! We were not disappointed. The shop is clean and well run, the staff are friendly and efficient and, long queue notwithstanding, we were served very quickly. It's also opposite a large free car park so access is easy too. The food was great. We had a variety of different items with our chips - burgers, sausages, mushy peas, pineapple fritter, curry sauce - and all of it was cooked well. We would definitely go back again :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peckish Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Peckish Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peckish Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.