We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good ales and beers available” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pendarves Inn

Pendarves Inn
2 Cathebedron Road | Carnhell Green, Camborne TR14 0NB, England
+44 1209 831461
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Camborne
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Continental, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Always good ales and beers available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Excellent beers and ales, run superbly by a nice couple..a really good local pub.
No food available , but some good evenings are always happening , choirs , darts etc ..or just a quiet pint

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SouthWest
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Glad we returned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I reviewed this a couple of months ago and today we returned for a Sunday Lunch.
We were made welcome as some as we came through the door.
No problem with our last minute arrival without a booking, so we had a drink and were allocated a table immediately.
We both plumped for the Pork and when it arrived a few moments later it was 2 large slices each, 3 Gorgeous roast potatoes, and a Yorkshire pud. These were liberally covered in a really tasty gravy. The Calabrese, Cauliflower in cheese sauce, roast carrot and roast Parsnip came separately and were all delicious. I followed this feast with Treacle tart and Cornish cream ( which for some reason had a bitter red berry type sauce over it which I left!) The treacle tart was lovely. Wife had a fruit Parfait which she loved.
This and the drinks beforehand came to around £27 so very reasonable price
Again we will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband ate here a week ago, and had told me how good the Thai green chicken curry was, so we went back this week. The Thai Green curry wasn't on the menu but there was a Thai stir-fry. Noodle based, plenty of tasty chicken in it, I haven't had a better Thai dish anywhere. Encouraged by the quality of the main, we went for a sweet and weren't disappointed! The home-made treacle tart was amazing! The pub managers are very welcoming and attentive without being in your face. We live locally and will definitely be back with friends!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food & Brilliant People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The food is very fairly priced and I have returned several times, ordering something different every time, always to be pleasantly surprised. I have also been to a couple events they have run which were great fun. Very nice, welcoming people :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant food in a pub, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We took friends as we had thoroughly enjoyed a meal previously and they were amazed at the choice of dishes and when the starters arrived they were blown away...home made pate, soup and pasta. The men had steaks and both were cooked to order, perfect, plenty of home made chips, all the trimmings, the other main courses were superb and the home made pizza for the junior member of you group was first class...and what could not be eaten was kindly boxed to take home. Sweets were freshly prepared and even the cheese board which was shared is unbeatable, lovely presentation and plenty of it. Overall, you don't expect this food in a pub and at these prices it is unbeatable.
I had a quick look at the Bed and Breakfast rooms, really big rooms with en-suites, all clean and new and thought what a nice evening that would be to have a meal here, coffee and drinks after and not have to drive home, just stay and then enjoy what I am promised is a 'full' breakfast. You certainly don't find a B&B with a restaurant like this, what a jewel in the Cornish countryside and a must try for everyone.
I must admit I had wondered what customers at the bar were leaving with in box and bags...they do take-aways off the menu, hats off to the new landlord and his team.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendarves Inn also viewed

 
Camborne, Cornwall
 

Been to Pendarves Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendarves Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.