We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taste fish resturant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowenac Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lowenac Hotel to your Saves list
Lowenac Hotel
34 Basset Road, Camborne TR14 8SL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Camborne
st.day cornwall uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“taste fish resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Don't know about the hotel but went to the fish restaurant, not the largest menu but plenty of variation, the food and service in the restaurant was excellent, finding a good fish restaurant in cornwall without going to the coast in the holiday period was a rare treat, easy parking not the best stocked bar but enough to choose and the choice of cold or room temperature beer, was a nice touch, the tempura starter was superb, and the main course, of salmon,bass, and monkfish was excellant, went too far and had a pudding ,then felt i'd overeaten and had to rest .But overall a great meal and i would recomend it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The staff were very efficient and attentive and the food was reasonable. Let down by the tired and shabby room with dust visible on the picture rail, sticky carpets, peeling and dirty wallpaper and woeful bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This fish and grill restaurant has only recently relaunched. It was a birthday treat - the restaurant was empty except for ourselves but it was early. The menu had a good choice of food especially the fish section which was different. The waiter was very attentive. The items were not cheap £5.50 for a prawn cocktail and about £13.50 for the main course. This is much higher than the usual food at the Lowenac. However saying that the food came excellently presented and beautifully cooked. The taste was superb and it was a very filling meal. We also had a glass of wine. The bill for two people (without a dessert) came to over £45 to which a tip had to be added. It would be a place for a 'special' meal not an everyday one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

this establishment is disgusting!!! my mum got married here.
we will first start on the rooms the windows are very low and are sliding ones, one of our party slid the window up and it slammed down by its self moments after she walked away if she had leaned out for any reason it would have slammed down on her causing injury they are very low without barriers which meant we had to constantly stay by or barricade so that the children couldn't accidentally fall out.
All the rooms had alot of broken items to the point my partner had to hold the shower door so i could get out. The rooms were very hot with no table fan in sight (also asked if we could have one and got told they don't provide any) the rooms are very worn out (who uses a trouser press these days) duct tape around the bottom of the showers, moldy curtains, lights hanging off the walls the list goes on.
Now to the day of the function ......... There was some family friends who has specific dietary requirements due to their religious belief who were provided with chicken pasties that were labelled as "vegetarian", because of this situation the quests had to leave straight away!! the female bar staff member had an awful attitude when i asked for another glass because my drink tasted like washing up liquid or D2 (antibacterial spray detergent) i got the reply of "well do you want your money back and not have any more drinks all night" which is not acceptable no apology at all, eventually after alot of asking for one i got another glass, now the fresh orange juice we ordered for the children and non alcohol drinkers didn't come out with the Pimms when asked for this we got told we would have to pay (again) and weak cheap orange squash came out! Also we got told that because there were 15 less people that were going to have the BBQ food we got told they would take the price per head from that and that would pay for 2 jugs of squash (which is 2 very expensive jugs of squash.)
One of our party who is in a wheel chair had to go around the outside to the front of the building to use the toilet facilities (thank god it wasn't raining) when doing this his carer had to place to rubbish bits of off cut wood to get over the threshold then he nearly fell out of his wheelchair doing this!!! Also this guest had his coffee's taken away before he even drank them.
They started clearing the tables of our decorations and table cloths at 9.30pm when we had rent on the function room until 12.00am which then prompted some guests leave.
We are very disappointed that the music playlist had been lost. When we told the DJ what type of music was wanted he played the opposite and didn't know who we were talking about (played songs from Youtube) and he didn't really care.
We didn't have the easily sourced drinks that we asked for when we originally booked we had explanation as to why they was not there.
When explained to owner/manager the response was like something a 15 year old would give, no remorse for what had happened the response was "there is nothing i can do about that now".
We live locally and will not be returning and have advised many of our friends and family not to go to this establishment.

Room Tip: Room 1 very comfortable mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I spent the weekend at this hotel to attend a wedding and reception. Breakfast was great and the waitress that served in the morning really friendly. Room was OK but really nothing to write home about - the extractor fan was very noisy, the alarm clock radio didn't work and the room was in need of some TLC. The photos on the website must have been taken some time ago as it all looks a bit tired now. The function room smelt damp when we arrived to decorate it for the wedding but that cleared when we left the doors open for a while - luckily it was a sunny weekend. The wedding was great and the grounds are lovely for photos. The food - a barbecue - was really good but this is where it started to go downhill. The bride had arranged for glasses of Pimms after the ceremony but the orange juice for the children didn't appear. Finally managed to get a couple of jugs of orange squash arranged. Some people couldn't attend at short notice and the hotel decided not to cook the number of portions that had been paid for. They kindly offered to offset the cost of two jugs of orange squash against the fifteen portions of food at £8.50 a head they had kept!!! The evening disco arrived but the hotel DJ didn't speak - not one word to the crowd, no encouragement to dance or congratulations to the bride and groom. Then to cap it all, the bridge and groom were surprised when people started leaving on mass at 10.00pm. The staff had decided to start clearing the room at 10.00pm although the room and hotel DJ was booked until midnight - the guests had presumed the evening was over! However the worst faux pas of the day was the traditional cornish pasties the bridge and groom served later in the evening. As some guests were Muslim vegetarian pasties had been arranged. Imagine the horror when upon eating them they found that they were made with chicken!! The wedding arranger had left and apart from the manager who was very apologetic, the only staff left didn't seem bothered at all. Spoke to the owner in the morning but his attitude really belied the fact he is in the service business - seems like once they have the money good luck with what you get. The Lowenac Hotel will never get a good review from me and sadly the only recourse for the unhappy bridge and groom may be in the small claims court.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was treated to a birthday lunch there some two weeks ago. I have stayed in the hotel in the past and found it comfortable but the food less so ! I was prepared to give the food another try but what I experienced was terrible. The waiting staff were untrained and completely out of there depth. The manager said that all the other waiting staff were on the Isles of Scilly. Sorry. Not my problem

The food was badly presented and had obviously been there some time and if I served that I would be embarrassed !. We were the moly diners at that time and had to find our own condiments and had to ask for service totes as none were provided. They were eventually just plonked on the table by uncaring staff. Waited 40 minutes to be served coffee but gave up the wait and went home. Sorry,I will never darken its doors again and would not recommend the establishment even to my worst enemy. I shall eat in the Tyacs from now on !

Room Tip: Stay at the Tyacs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Wedding party going on but four of us had the whole restaurant to ourselves. Pleasant waitress who was training was very attentive as were other staff. Food choices good- freshly cooked and hot and tasty. Surprised not more people there. Dining room very pleasant.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lowenac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowenac Hotel

Address: 34 Basset Road, Camborne TR14 8SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lowenac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowenac Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowenac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.