We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honicombe Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honicombe Manor
St Anns Chapel, Callington PL17 8JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We cant wait to go here and really looking forward to it. there is lots of nice and so nice reviews but it looks really good and i hope we have a lovely time and ill put up a review once our friend and family has been on there behalf

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It’s great to hear you are looking forward to your stay! If there is anything we can do beforehand - or during your visit - to help you then please do not hesitate to let us know. If you have already visited then we hope you have a lovely relaxing holiday

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    34
    31
    39
See reviews for
132
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I satyed in Valley Lodge No 44 which has been previously reviewed on here. The park has been recently taken over and obviously the owners of this individual lodge have spent a lot of money on renovations. The lodge was lovely, very bright, modern and warm. The park itself is a work in progress but we had a lovely time. Ideal for touring both Devon and Cornwall. Beautiful seaside villages like Polperro and Looe and the open space of Dartmoor all close by as well as wonderful National Trust properties such as Cotehele almost right next door.

Room Tip: The lodges are individually owned and not all of the same standard. Ask for no 44 Valley Lodge and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your recent holiday at Honicombe Holiday
Park. It is good to know that our renovation work is making a
noticeable difference.

The local area does indeed provide lots of opportunity to visit
the characteristically traditional towns, ports and features
of Cornwall and Devon. We are really pleased to hear you
enjoyed your holiday with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just recently got back from here after booking a deal break for half term. Have to admit we were a bit apprehensive about the place as previous reviews had been pretty bad but we were aware that new owners had recently took it over..so we went with an open mind.

The park is set down a secluded country lane in the sleepy area of St Anns Chapel. On arrival the park looked fine apart from some tired looking lodges on the road to reception. The welcome was lovely and friendly and staff very helpful. Those tired looking lodges were the same type we ended up staying in (St Anns Lodge) - from the outside they do look a bit grim and really do need a freshen up...however all our worries were put aside once we entered. The lodge was lovely. Its 2 storey with bedrooms and bathrooms on the ground floor and the main living space and kitchen on the 1st. The main room was lovely and roomy and had huge windows leading out onto a balcony with fantastic views of the countryside.

The park itself is pretty quiet, there's an outdoor pool, tennis courts, table tennis, restaurant, bar, entertainment room and swimming pool. The swimming pool was fine and clean when we used it..Its pretty shallow the whole way across so perfect for kids,however it does need updating and the tiles on the pool roof seemed to hold condensation so if you sat on the side of the pool you did get dripped on occasionally.

We tended to eat out most nights (some lovely country pubs in the area) but as Wednesday had been billed as a Halloween party with fun and games for the kids, the boys wanted to stay for the evening so we ate in the restaurant. The food i have to say wasn't that great, both the chilli and curry tasted sweet which was odd and the food wasn't that hot.

My youngest was dressed up and excited for the Halloween games so we sat in the main room waiting (was billed to start at 7) which it didn't....we were greeted by quite a scary looking man and too old women on the stage..who just stood there for ages with dated music playing in the background. All of a sudden they then started playing - 1 woman on an organ, 1 on a double bass and the man with an accordion.....the songs they sang were completely dated, had no relevance to Halloween and certainly no relevance to the entertainment of children. We literally had to walk out after 10 minutes it was that bad....my son really disappointed, and the worst thing was they continued that for about an hour.

I think if the new owners are looking to make improvements then they seriously need to look at updating their entertainment as it was the worst i have ever seen. We spoke to several parents there who were equally shocked at how bad it was.It was dated, old fashioned and frankly a bit creepy. Kids want pop music they know, fun games and entertainers they can relate to.

Overall the break at Homicombe was ok....our accommodation was lovely and the reception staff very helpful. There are lots of areas that need improvement but i can see this park being really nice once it gets all sorted. Entertainment was horrendous and i really hope they do get that area on track.

If your looking for a quiet break and a good base for exploring that part of Cornwall then this is the ideal location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent
holiday at Honicombe Holiday Park.

It’s great to hear your positive comments about the accommodation
as improving the standard across all the lodges has been our top
priority since taking over. I’m also glad to hear you enjoyed the
facilities on site.

Thanks for your feedback about the outside cosmetic work and the
entertainment at the main lodge. Both of these will be taken on
board as part of the on-going improvements we make to the site.

Having taken over in late summer we were very limited in the
changes we were able to make to the entertainment programme.
This was largely due to the availability, at late notice, of the sort of
entertainment we would like to have put on. We are a family site
and target our entertainment to appeal to families. Thank you for
taking the time to give your feedback and I want to reassure you
that we are listening.

We hope your positive experiences outweighed the
shortcomings and look forward to welcoming you back to
Honicombe Holiday Park at some time in the future.

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned home after staying for a 4 day break in a St Ann's Lodge at Honicombe Manor. We had booked directly with Honicombe Manor before reading the reviews on Tripadvisor so went with very low expectations but determined that we would make the most of it. When we arrived we were pleasantly suprised and although the lodges weren't the prettiest of buildings they weren't as bad as expected (I do believe that alot of ongoing effort has been made to improve the standard of the whole complex) Our lodge was warm, clean and comfortable, suprisingly well equiped and really good value for a half term break. The staff at the Manor House were friendly and helpful, paritcularly on the first night when dealing with our requests for extra bedding at 9:30 at night! All in all a really good break and would definately recommend for a value family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your review of your recent holiday. We are pleased to
hear you enjoyed your stay at Honicombe Holiday Park and that you
found this a great value family holiday. As you know improvements
are continuing on-site and I’m pleased you could see the positive
results of our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Friendly greeting on arrival, lovely staff especially in the club house area, and the food was reasonable and lovely, ate in there 4 nights and tried a variety never a bad meal.
our Lodge was clean and a nice play to stay.
Pool was nice and clean.
If possible would say need a car to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us at Honicombe Holiday Park and that our staff and facilities were able to give your family a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again.

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just got back today from our trip to Cornwall. Honicombe manor... Bit of a mixed bag really. Thankfully I didn't check the reviews before booking because I probably wouldn't have booked. It doesn't look promising when you first come in through the gates. The cottages or apartments (not sure what they are) are painted in a fluorescent yellow which is not so pleasing on the eye and you can see a rather tired looking tennis court and outdoor pool - closed as out of season.
Staff were friendly enough but the reception does shut at 5pm so I was left wondering how I would check in? They had left me a voicemail message on my mobile thank goodness, so yes good service. Lodges aren't that well sign posted so after a lucky guess we found our lodge. Not sure where the photos were taken on the hoseasons website because it did look very sad from the outside - unlike the photos. This was not looking good and I really had thought I'd made a huge mistake. Going in to the lodge it was surprisingly spacious, modern, well presented and not a shade of what it looked like from the outside. Saltash 31, has a modern fitted kitchen with dishwasher, a full size dining table and leatherette chairs to seat 8, 2 large and quite comfy sofas, a tv and DVD player, master bedroom with ensuite bathroom, separate shower room and wc, two further twin bedrooms. There is also a balcony with patio furniture and nice little decked area off the master bedroom. Sorry for the full description I don't think hoseasons tells the full story.
We didn't go for the hot tub option and glad we didn't really as it was quite overlooked.
You are quite out the way with this place not much within walking distance. 50 mins from Eden project, 45 from Tintagel and 40 from Plymouth.
I would book again if it were a little closer to some attractions.

Room Tip: I don't think all the lodges are alike Saltash 31 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Honicombe Holiday
Park. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us.

It’s great to hear that you thought the accommodation was modern
and comfortable. The features you mention are typical of all properties
on site in order to make sure everyone enjoys a comfortable stay.

Honicombe Holiday Park was taken over by completely new
ownership as of 17 August 2012. The new management are
committed to improving the site and its facilities for future
visitors so we have taken on board your comments about the
cosmetic work needed on the site. Much has already been
done in this area and we continue to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again and our staff
will be happy to provide information on things to do within easy
reach in the local area. We believe there are lots of great local attractions
and are happy to provide helpful local advice.

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a week here which we booked last minute. We arrived and were a little wary on arrival as the first houses you see on arrival look a little downtroden and need some tlc. However the welcome on reception was warm and once in the main site the lodges were pretty. We received a letter saying that the site had been taken over by some of the propery owners and that they were gradually making the improvements that are obviously well overdue.
Our lodge was lovely (Valley Lodge No 6) and the owners of this particular lodge have taken care to make it homely with lovely touches such as DVD's, books, games and have furnished it very well. The downstairs did smell a but damp on arrival but nothing that cranking the heating up for a couple of hours whilst we went out for dinner didn't sort out.
The food in the main Manor was home cooked and tasted great, we ate there on the first and last night and the staff were great with our 3 year old and really friendly.
The swimming pool was clean and warm and they are clearly making an effort to make the improvements needed.
We were there off-season and I can imagine the place is very busy in the summer holidays and this might make the pool and other facilities a bit overrun.
The location of Honicombe is fantastic for going out and about in the area. There are more National Trust properties and walks than we could fit in the week within a 30 minute drive and Cotehele with it's Mill and Quay is just 2 miles down the road and Morwellham. I'm not sure it's somewhere I would recommend if you want/need to stay onsite every day.

Room Tip: It's allocation on arrival but you can request - I'd definitely recommend Valley Lodge No 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your review of your recent holiday. We are pleased to
hear you enjoyed your stay at Honicombe Holiday Park.

As you know, Honicombe Holiday Park is now under
completely new ownership and I’m pleased that you were able to see us
making progress on improvements to the site and accommodation already.

We think that Honicombe’s location makes it a great base for
exploring Devon and Cornwall so it’s great to hear that you were
able to enjoy the attractions in the local area! We passionately believe
there are lots of little local gems and it's great that you have found them.

We’ve passed on your positive feedback to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honicombe Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honicombe Manor

Address: St Anns Chapel, Callington PL17 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty lodging in Callington
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honicombe Holiday Park is now under completely new ownership. The new management company (Honicombe Ltd.) took over the site on 17 August 2012, was formed by a group of Honicombe holiday property owners and is committed to improving the site and its facilities in order to enhance the experience of visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honicombe Manor Hotel Callington
Honicombe Manor Callington, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honicombe Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Honicombe Manor to your Saves list