We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort
Save
You added Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort to your Saves list
St Anns Chapel, Callington PL17 8JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Far better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned home after staying for a 4 day break in a St Ann's Lodge at Honicombe Manor. We had booked directly with Honicombe Manor before reading the reviews on Tripadvisor so went with very low expectations but determined that we would make the most of it. When we arrived we were pleasantly suprised and although the lodges weren't the prettiest of buildings they weren't as bad as expected (I do believe that alot of ongoing effort has been made to improve the standard of the whole complex) Our lodge was warm, clean and comfortable, suprisingly well equiped and really good value for a half term break. The staff at the Manor House were friendly and helpful, paritcularly on the first night when dealing with our requests for extra bedding at 9:30 at night! All in all a really good break and would definately recommend for a value family holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your review of your recent holiday. We are pleased to
hear you enjoyed your stay at Honicombe Holiday Park and that you
found this a great value family holiday. As you know improvements
are continuing on-site and I’m pleased you could see the positive
results of our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    18
    12
    19
See reviews for
70
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Friendly greeting on arrival, lovely staff especially in the club house area, and the food was reasonable and lovely, ate in there 4 nights and tried a variety never a bad meal.
our Lodge was clean and a nice play to stay.
Pool was nice and clean.
If possible would say need a car to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us at Honicombe Holiday Park and that our staff and facilities were able to give your family a great holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again.

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just got back today from our trip to Cornwall. Honicombe manor... Bit of a mixed bag really. Thankfully I didn't check the reviews before booking because I probably wouldn't have booked. It doesn't look promising when you first come in through the gates. The cottages or apartments (not sure what they are) are painted in a fluorescent yellow which is not so pleasing on the eye and you can see a rather tired looking tennis court and outdoor pool - closed as out of season.
Staff were friendly enough but the reception does shut at 5pm so I was left wondering how I would check in? They had left me a voicemail message on my mobile thank goodness, so yes good service. Lodges aren't that well sign posted so after a lucky guess we found our lodge. Not sure where the photos were taken on the hoseasons website because it did look very sad from the outside - unlike the photos. This was not looking good and I really had thought I'd made a huge mistake. Going in to the lodge it was surprisingly spacious, modern, well presented and not a shade of what it looked like from the outside. Saltash 31, has a modern fitted kitchen with dishwasher, a full size dining table and leatherette chairs to seat 8, 2 large and quite comfy sofas, a tv and DVD player, master bedroom with ensuite bathroom, separate shower room and wc, two further twin bedrooms. There is also a balcony with patio furniture and nice little decked area off the master bedroom. Sorry for the full description I don't think hoseasons tells the full story.
We didn't go for the hot tub option and glad we didn't really as it was quite overlooked.
You are quite out the way with this place not much within walking distance. 50 mins from Eden project, 45 from Tintagel and 40 from Plymouth.
I would book again if it were a little closer to some attractions.

Room Tip: I don't think all the lodges are alike Saltash 31 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Honicombe Holiday
Park. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us.

It’s great to hear that you thought the accommodation was modern
and comfortable. The features you mention are typical of all properties
on site in order to make sure everyone enjoys a comfortable stay.

Honicombe Holiday Park was taken over by completely new
ownership as of 17 August 2012. The new management are
committed to improving the site and its facilities for future
visitors so we have taken on board your comments about the
cosmetic work needed on the site. Much has already been
done in this area and we continue to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again and our staff
will be happy to provide information on things to do within easy
reach in the local area. We believe there are lots of great local attractions
and are happy to provide helpful local advice.

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a week here which we booked last minute. We arrived and were a little wary on arrival as the first houses you see on arrival look a little downtroden and need some tlc. However the welcome on reception was warm and once in the main site the lodges were pretty. We received a letter saying that the site had been taken over by some of the propery owners and that they were gradually making the improvements that are obviously well overdue.
Our lodge was lovely (Valley Lodge No 6) and the owners of this particular lodge have taken care to make it homely with lovely touches such as DVD's, books, games and have furnished it very well. The downstairs did smell a but damp on arrival but nothing that cranking the heating up for a couple of hours whilst we went out for dinner didn't sort out.
The food in the main Manor was home cooked and tasted great, we ate there on the first and last night and the staff were great with our 3 year old and really friendly.
The swimming pool was clean and warm and they are clearly making an effort to make the improvements needed.
We were there off-season and I can imagine the place is very busy in the summer holidays and this might make the pool and other facilities a bit overrun.
The location of Honicombe is fantastic for going out and about in the area. There are more National Trust properties and walks than we could fit in the week within a 30 minute drive and Cotehele with it's Mill and Quay is just 2 miles down the road and Morwellham. I'm not sure it's somewhere I would recommend if you want/need to stay onsite every day.

Room Tip: It's allocation on arrival but you can request - I'd definitely recommend Valley Lodge No 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your review of your recent holiday. We are pleased to
hear you enjoyed your stay at Honicombe Holiday Park.

As you know, Honicombe Holiday Park is now under
completely new ownership and I’m pleased that you were able to see us
making progress on improvements to the site and accommodation already.

We think that Honicombe’s location makes it a great base for
exploring Devon and Cornwall so it’s great to hear that you were
able to enjoy the attractions in the local area! We passionately believe
there are lots of little local gems and it's great that you have found them.

We’ve passed on your positive feedback to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay again

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I booked this holiday via a reputable company informing me that this was one of hoseasons new resorts !!!!!! It was booked knowing it was a holiday for my disabled brother.... and they took his money. Shocking it has been the worst holiday I have ever been on. Stuck in the middle of no where. A good half hour to an hour drive to anywhere worth visiting . We had to go out each day as there was nothing to do on site. Outdoor pool closed. In door pool was about as entertaining as having a bath . The club house offered a pool table , but no drinks till 5pm .. That was about it. Food in restaurant at night , well I ve had better . Location dull and dirty . Damp is my overall view. Inside and out. When we drove in I thought we were entering some run down estate or army barracks. Once we got inside ... All I can say is I think the owners should be ashamed . The smell was over powering, furniture was dirty and old. Mouldy curtains , shower and bathrooms. A very doggy electric system wired to the boiler. Dirty bedding and a kettle that environmental health will be very interested in. We had to go swimming at local pools for a clean decent shower everyday. Petrol costs for day trips out were incurred, despite being told that daily activists on site are available. Overall a damp and miserable week. Hoseasons will be getting full photos. We have all come back with upset stomachs and coughs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your
holiday during your recent holiday at Honicombe Holiday Park.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at Honicombe did not meet your
expectations, however, we generally expect that substantial issues,
such as you mention here, are reported to us as early as possible
during your holiday so that we have the best chance to put them
right and to minimise any distress or impact to your holiday. Our
aim is always to do as much as possible to enable our visitors’ full
enjoyment of their time with us.

Honicombe Holiday Park is now under completely new ownership.
The new management company took over the park in late summer
and was formed by a group of Honicombe holiday property owners
who are committed to improving the site and its facilities for all of
our future visitors – so your feedback is important to us.

An important part of Honicombe’s appeal is that it is set in the
countryside of the Tamar Valley. We appreciate that this might
not suit everyone but our staff are happy to provide information
on suitable attractions in the local area. We think Honicombe
is an ideal centre for exploring both Devon and Cornwall, but the
rural location means this does require some travel. More locally,
Cotehele, Morwellham Quay, quaint villages and country
walks are right on our doorstep.

Where our visitors have specific requirements we always make every
effort to accommodate them - and to help with this, it is best to
inform us as early as possible of special needs. Due to the nature of
the site, some of our lodges are more accessible than others - but we
will always work with you to make sure you are as comfortable as
possible during your stay.

Improvement works are well underway. We have completed a
full assessment/refurbishment programme for all properties and
support services at the park to ensure cleanliness and comfort. Our
restaurant has received specific focus so that we may meet the
demands of our clients whilst providing value for money. Our pools
are undergoing refurbishment during the low season.
Although some of the points you raise have already been addressed,
we have noted all of your feedback to inform our on-going
improvement programme.

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I had never been to Cornwall before and this place made my holiday! We stayed in a lodge with a hot tub and it was amazing. The lodges are clean and tidy and very spacious. My little one actually had his own room for a week. The service we received at reception was excellent. The staff were very helpful and anything we needed they attended to straight away. We needed a stair gate for our little one and within minutes of asking for it, it arrived. The hot tub was checked daily and was so warm and lovely. We will definitely be back. Thank you to everyone at Honicombe Manor xxx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your recent holiday at Honicombe Holiday
Park. It is always uplifting to hear when someone has enjoyed
their holiday and in particular that our staff were able on this
occasion to help make your stay comfortable.

Our staff are hard-working and knowledgeable – and they like
to help where-ever possible. We have passed on your kind
comments to them so that they know they are appreciated.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Cornwall and
hope it will be the first of many! We hope you will consider a future
return to Honicombe and look forward to welcoming you to stay again

Kind regards

The Honicombe Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort

Address: St Anns Chapel, Callington PL17 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Callington
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honicombe Holiday Park is now under completely new ownership. The new management company (Honicombe Ltd.) took over the site on 17 August 2012, was formed by a group of Honicombe holiday property owners and is committed to improving the site and its facilities in order to enhance the experience of visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honicombe Manor Hotel Callington
Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort Callington, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.