We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Lodge B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orchard Lodge B&B to your Saves list
Orchard Lodge B&B
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Gunpool Lane, Boscastle PL35 0AT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of September, but I wish we could have stayed longer. Geoff and Shelley made us feel totally relaxed and provided excellent service, we felt completely at home during our stay. Stayed in the Bossiney room which was nicely decorated and quite spacious. The whole B&B is very well kept and of a high standard.
The cooked breakfast was especially good but there was also a good selection of cereals and fresh fruit. We particularly liked the sausages and the warm spiced apples from the garden.
Great place to stay and use as a base to explore the local area either by foot or further a field by car. The local pub up the road served great food and beer in a relaxed atmosphere; there are other good places to eat down the hill in the bottom of the village.
Will definitely return. All B&B's take note as this is how things should be done.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
196
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at Orchard Lodge. Prior to our arrival Shelley was very helpful suggesting places for us to eat in the evenings. On arrival we were greated with a fresh pot of coffee and apples from the orchard. There is plenty of visitor parking directly outside.

Our room was spacious and very well presented. We had a lovely view down the hill towards Boscastle.

After a peaceful nights sleep we went down for a lovely breakfast, a wide range of cereals, fresh fruit, and a made to order cooked breakfast that was spot on. There was also fresh fish available.

I would highly recommend Orchard Lodge, nothing ever seemed too much trouble, and we felt right at home from arrival until our departure..............If only all places you stay could be this good!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry Northanys
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We have just spent the most delightful week at this 5 star B&B. Our hosts, Geoff & Shelley really knew how to make us welcome. The breakfasts were outstanding in both quality and variety and I specially recommend the "Cornish Alpine" and the "Lodge" omlette. Our twin bedded room was extremely comfortable, beautifully decorated and the bathroom with shower sparkling in every sense. If you are looking for excellence at a reasonable cost then I thoroughly recommend you stay here if you wish to explore north, or even south Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We've stayed here twice and are already planning our next stay. Be assured of a very special welcome, THE most comfotable of rooms and the tastiest breakfast EVER.
I was not ready to gat home to my own bed, I wanted to stay in that one. You wil want to go back.
We recommended it to our daughter, she's just booked her second visit and some friends who raved about it when they got back.
Keep up the good work Geoff and Shelly!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pixley
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

My wife and I have just spent a couple of nights at Orchard Lodge.This must be our third visit in the last 18 months and we cant speak highly enough of it. The rooms are superb,the breakfasts a delight and whatever you need the owners are only to pleased to help out. Cant speak highly enough about it and we will definitely stay again when we next go to North Cornwall.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Lodge B&B

Address: Gunpool Lane, Boscastle PL35 0AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Orchard Lodge B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beautiful North Cornwall coast and set in its own grounds, Five Star Gold and multi-award-winning B&B Orchard Lodge is a stone’s throw from Boscastle’s hidden-away High Street and Fore Street, one of the area’s most charming secrets. A 10 minute stroll takes you to the historic harbour and coast path. Our twin and double rooms, all en-suite, are decorated in crisp, contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Orchard Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Lodge B&B Boscastle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.