We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very honest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sails Cafe

Sails Cafe
6 Bridge Walk, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
+44 1840 250501
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Boscastle
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Ice Cream, Pasta, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Cheerful, friendly service, offering breakfasts from 9-ish until late-ish, family friendly, plenty seating inside and out on the terrace, perfect for a cool drink at the end of a summer day or a warming hot chocolate or coffee. Dog friendly.Just a step away from the car park. Licensed.Full range of food to Take Away including Fish and Chips, home made and home cooked food including soups, Pasta dishes, Cream teas and Special Offer of 2 meals for £12.50.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very honest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

When we ordered till had switched off, so they calculated the price manually. Charged a price I was happy with. When our drinks came they said sorry overcharged you here is your change. Well done on the honesty, it wasn't much but the principle.

Cream tea very nice. Lemon drizzle cake very good. Huge portion. Good value for money. Would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sails-Cafe C, Owner at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, Ian always liked to think his Maths skills were infallible so is now sitting in the corner wearing his dunces cap with his Key Stage 3 Maths Workbook, brushing up for next time. It wasn't much but it is the principle that counts and we are glad you appreciated it. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    23
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good breakfast. Came back again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

They do a great fresh all-day-breakfast here. The ingredients were tasty and the value very reasonable. The staff were friendly. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Eggs and bacon sandwich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Popped In for lunch decided on an egg and bacon sandwich can honestly say it was the best I have ever had. Can highly recommend this cafe staff friendly and helpful.



    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“great pasties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

On a recent trip to boscastle with my family we were very impressed with this delightfull cafe. We were all very hungry and enjoyed fantastic pasties that came served with fries, just what we needed on a cold november afternoon. Make sure you try a miners pastie that has meat at one end and fruit at the other, maincourse and pudding all in one!! sounds odd but was very nice. Great tea and coffee & the staff were very pleasant and made us very welcome and our dog too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We popped in on arrival at Boscastle for coffee and Tea. We liked the look of the place, clean, tidy and comfortable with friendly people. We then went in for breakfast over the next two days. The food quality was good, the portions fair and we found Ian and Carolyn to be very chatty and friendly. The cost of the breakfast was also reasonable. There is outside seating but the weather didnt allow that. Would definatly recommend the cafe and will go there again when we visit Boscastle

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sails Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.