We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassing expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory St. Juliot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Rectory St. Juliot to your Saves list
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   St Juliot, Boscastle PL35 0BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Surpassing expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent the weekend in the converted stables and were amazed at every attention to detail that had been carefully thought out to make every part of our stay the most enjoyable. It would be too long a list to state all the amazing things about this B&B, but we thouroughly and genuinely highly recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
67
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Old Rectory is a fantastic place to stay. A warm welcome from Sally, Chris & Emma. We stayed in The Rectors Room a large comfortable spacious room with large king sized bed that we slept in very well. The was clean and well cared for plenty of tea/coffee and other drinks on the hospitality tray.
Breakfast is a delight a varied choice one of which is substantial FULL ENGLISH Breakfast with home produced bacon, sausages not forgetting new laid fresh eggs too. Evening cooked by Emma is also a treat not to be missed home grown produce including the very tasty Roast Pork from there own reared pigs.
Without and reservations we would recommend very highly a stay at The Old Rectory a warm welcome awaits you a place for a peaceful and very relaxing break away from the fast speed of life.

Room Tip: The Rectors Room is large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We, too, find it hard to understand the previous less-than-positive review. Our only regret about the Old Rectory is that we couldn't stay longer. Everything you could want in a bed and breakfast is here. Sally offered a warm welcome, but wasn't intrusive or fussy as some proprietors can be. The house and garden are delightful, the food--both Anna's dinner and the breakfast (eggs from their chickens, sausage and bacon from their pigs)--is amazing. We stayed in Emma's room and found it clean, well-equipped, quiet, and peaceful. Sally anticipated everything we could want--robes in the room, lavish tea/coffee tray, sewing kit in the drawer. Chris and Sally have put sustainable, environmentally friendly management and the traditional, homey B&B together in the perfect package. If you are looking for a retreat, a base for walking in the countryside, or a wonderful place to curl up with a book you won't go wrong with the Old Rectory.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A lovely place to go to and unwind with the added bonus that while in the property you will not receive a mobile phone signal - a fantastic release from the world.

Chris, Sally and Anna are lovely hosts and do their utmost to make the stay an enjoyable one. The Breakfasts are excellent and Anna cooks evening meals (not every night).

I loved my stay in the Rectors room and slept well throughout the visit.

If you just want somewhere to wind down and relax with some good local walks, good food and a comfortable bed then look no further.

Room Tip: I think it is likely that all rooms are very good but the Rectors Room is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTBOURNE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

First of all we feel that we must correct a previous reviewer, The Old Rectory is not difficult to find, all you need to do is follow the signposts!

This is a really special place, not just a B&B but a family home into which we were invited and made very welcome. In a secluded and peaceful location the house retains an old world charm with its period features and has an ambience that most impressed us. Chris, Sally and Anna treated us like friends from the moment we arrived. We were served tea in the lounge seated around the wood burning stove then given a guided tour of the gardens and introduced to the 'girls' (hens, ducks, piglets and Millie the dog). On our second night we shared an evening meal with the family and other guests which was delightful, the dinner was excellent as were the breakfasts, all from home grown or local produce. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with probably the largest bed we have ever slept in! This was our first visit and for only two nights but we hope to return and stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hard to find, in the beautiful Cornish village of Boscastle, we approached this hidden away house expecting it to be special.
Well, it is in some ways. Sally the owner is very welcoming and friendly.
The breakfast is very substantial and made from locally sourced or homemade and grown fresh produce. That part is great. It is also really peaceful and quiet.

However, we prefer our rooms less part of someone's home, and more updated. We also prefer proper facilities, good shower etc. These here are very, very basic.

It felt a little like visiting the house of an old aunt. If you like homey, doilies and tea posies, you'll love this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a treat - all the previous reviewers are spot on, this place is heaven on a plate! From the minute we arrived, we were made to feel more than welcome. The house and garden are a testament to the hard work that Chris, Sally and Anna put into this beautiful family home. Everything that you could wish for in a four star hotel, we were just sorry that we couldn't stay longer. Anna's evening meals are such a treat - not only is it almost entirely home produced [all the fruit and veggies, eggs, pork, lamb.............] but, it is cooked in such a healthy way, that you really don't mind indulging without guilt. Anna's raspberry ice-cream is to die for - it's deep red with the amount of berries used, and tastes heavenly.
We had the Rector's room, which was ace, but we'd be happy with any of them if we could go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory St. Juliot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory St. Juliot

Address: St Juliot, Boscastle PL35 0BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory St. Juliot 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is in a quiet and secluded area offering four luxurious en-suite rooms in a historic house with Thomas Hardy connections close to the picturesque village of Boscastle. We are surrounded by 3 acres of our mature gardens including a productive walled Victorian kitchen garden, producing fruit and vegetables for breakfast and evening meals (by arrangement). Guests can enjoy our viewing deck over looking the sea and Valency Valley. Hardy wrote he left with "Magic in his eyes" and we hope you will do the same! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory St. Juliot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory St. Juliot Boscastle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory St. Juliot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.