We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Camelford Road, Boscastle PL35 0BG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed 3 nights here Heather & John were excellent hosts, we were made to feel very welcome from day one. The excellent breakfast was fresh tasty and plentiful. The room was spacious and comfortably as was the big bed. Although we took advantage of there special offer of 3 nights for the price of 2 this made it extremely good value even at full price it would still be good value. If you stay at the bottreaux you won't be disappointed,

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to write a review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
75
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Bottreaux is a warm and welcoming hotel with a very hearty breakfast where all diets are catered for. The rooms are very comfortably and tastefully decorated.

Parking can be a problem at busy periods and the shower drainage is so slow that I found myself standing in dirty soapy water at the end of my shower which was a bit disconcerting.

Room Tip: The front rooms give the better view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Many thanks for you review. We are always pleased to hear what our guests say about The Bottreaux and of any improvements we can make.
We have now sorted the shower drainage problem - thank you for pointing it out so we can rectify it. We hope to see you again, kind regards Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Having spent 3 nights at the Bottreaux guest accomodation at boscastle cornwall i would just like to say how wonderful my experiance was. I was able to arrive and book in at the time that i wanted which was early in the morning because i was spending the day walking, i was welcolmed as soon as i arrived and i was made to feel welcome from the very start. The place is lovely, clean tidy, everything just perfect, the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The bedrooms great and the bed so comfy. Breakfast was lovely so much choice and beautifully cooked, well done to everyone involved for making my stay perfect for me, top marks to you all, i will definately be coming back for another stay Alan T

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay here at The Bottreaux. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and time here and hope to see you again. Kind regards Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

A good place to stay. Very welcoming, very clean and warm. Breakfasts are good and plentiful with a veggie option and all of the people working here are very helpful. And they have a very good deal on at the moment which makes it an even better place to stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay here at The Bottreaux. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. With kind regards, Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights and it was brilliant from beginning to end, the welcome from Heather, the accomodation and the breakfasts were something else, a varied menu and a vegetarian option if you wanted. Boscastle, a short walk away very pleasant lovely pub grub.
Take a stroll down Fore Road and look out for the site of Bos Casle....happy hunting.
We only wish this idylic place 'The Bottreaux' was much much nearer than 350 miles away from us in Blackpool...love to all at the 'B' see you soon
Anne and Stephen

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

A lovely little gem. The owner Heather is very sweet and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfasts are delicious and includes a vegetarian option. My room was very clean and snug
Close by is the ancient church called the Minster and 10 mins walk and you are in Bostcastle
harbour. Only snag with the area is that public transport is not as good as west cornwall and last bus is just after 6

Room Tip: I had a twin room as i prefer a bath to shower and Hether was kind enough to offer me a rooom lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
We appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us.

Boscastle is a truly lovely area with Minster Church close by as you say which is well worth a visit and a walk around the woodland.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for one night. The welcome was good and we were given all necessary information. The restaurant was closed when we went but it is only about a ten minute very pleasant walk into Boscastle where there is a good selection of restaurants, pubs etc. The village is well worth exploring and there are some good nearby walks. Also a visit to Tintagel is a must. Our room (Forrabury) was spotlessly clean with lovely views of the sea althougha bit small if you were staying for any length of time. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your stay here at The Bottreaux Guest Accommodation. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

With kind regards
Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Camelford Road, Boscastle PL35 0BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 200 year old building is situated within a ten minute walk through quaint cottages to the famous Elizabethan harbour. Boscastle is situated on the glorious coastline of North Cornwall and offers guests an unrivaled base to explore the very beautiful scenery and places of interest. Every bedroom is en-suite and each one is decorated individually with white linen, colour coordinated accessories and the mattresses are of the best quality. Our lounge is spacious with deep leather sofas and chairs in which to relax. Breakfast - We pride ourselves in serving delicious choices from our extensive menu offering either full English breakfast or a lighter meal, for example Smoked Salmon on scrambled free range eggs plus vegetarian options. We have a private car park for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bottreaux Hotel Boscastle
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast Boscastle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.