We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Lights

Harbour Lights
Quayside, Boscastle PL35 0HD, England
01840 250953
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Boscastle
Cuisines: British, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fab cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Boscastle on a warm late September afternoon, we stopped at the Harbour Lights cafe and got the last table outside. A fantastic spot close to the harbour in this characterful village. We shared a cheese and chutney sandwich which was served up with some freshly prepared salad and crisps and tasted great. Filter coffee also very good. Friendly staff and table service. Would definitely return if we visit Boscastle again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    24
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We just popped-in !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After a long walk around the cliffs, we decided to stop for a coffee at The Harbour Lights before going back to our hotel. The staff were very friendly and the coffee was excellent. If we wanted food , we would definitely give the Harbour Lights a go...next time we visit Boscastle.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best scone in Cornwall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife ate here last year when we came to boscastle and it was so great we had to come back. The staff are so friendly they couldnt have made you feel more welcome. The hot chocolate was realy very very good about an inch of marshmallows. The cream tea is the cherry on top, the scones are the best ive had. Well well well recomended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service who really helped us with the chaos of feeding our little ones..... Crab sandwiches for us a delight, sausage sandwich for toddler could have had better quality sausages but overall fully recommend Harbour Lights :-)?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice milk shake shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Dropping in around 4.30pm on a busy afternoon with lots of people around, we dropped in for a milk shake, and whilst it was very nice although quite expensive the atmosphere was less than good and we were made to feel we were a pain coming in at that time. The boards were brought in, the gate closed and the owner I would think, bringing stock in from the van, on our hasty way out not a word from him as he went past.
I would guess its a case of a captive market and plenty more visitors in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.