We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Lights

Harbour Lights
Quayside, Boscastle PL35 0HD, England
01840 250953
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Boscastle
Cuisines: British, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stopped here briefly to indulge in coffee and cake - staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help. Great little place, will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    24
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still the best Cream Teas in Cornwall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Many moons ago and before the terrible floods in Boscastle Harbour nearly 10 years ago, I had a fantastic cream tea here.
For at least a month before we travelled to Boscastle, I bored my partner with stories of the great Cornish cream teas in Cornwall and one place in particular that I rated very highly.
I was so hoping that the Harbour Lights Café was still there and that the Cream Teas were still as good.
The server arrived with our freshly made scones, clotted cream, strawberry jam and steaming hot pot of tea.
I demonstrated the construction of my partner’s first scone ladened with clotted cream and jam… she looked on unconvinced at my continued protestations of the Cornish cream teas greatness. She constructed hers… a smile appeared on her face and a loud yum!
I know its 100% full of cholesterol, but it’s worth having at least one before you die of eating fat free healthy food.
Can’t wait to get back there for another one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful and special little cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a lovely lunch here on a warm sunday afternoon in July. The food was delicious and good value, and the staff were friendly and very warm and welcoming. This cafe is a great little find in Boscastle and I loved sitting outside in the sun watching this gorgeous little town. Highly recommend stopping here while visiting Cornwall, would have liked to have stayed longer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Food, Pretty Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have been here twice now and have decided lovely food and very good service. My girlfriends bread roll with her soup was unfortunately mouldy but when the staff were informed they were mortified! They immediately replaced it with many apologies and refused to let us pay for her meal which we found very sweet. Will definitely come back every time I return to Boscastle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely coffee shop with outstanding cream teas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

A truly lovely coffee shop/ tea room with polite staff and a lovely atmosphere. The cream teas are outstanding, the best I've had. I keep going back everytime I'm in cornwall and the service and quality never changes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Lights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.