We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Napoleon Inn

The Napoleon Inn
High Street, Boscastle, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Boscastle
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Post Code: PL35 0BD Tel: 01840 250 204
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Pub! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a quick lunch here on a very sunny Friday lunch time. Both had specials at £5 each which was incredible value for money. The crab sandwich was just fantastic. Don't think I've ever had better. We sat in the garden so our baby could play on a rug which worked out perfectly. Would love to go again and highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    93
    18
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ruemligen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our favourite in town. Nice beers, good choice of food, nice and quick service, nice atmosphere in this very old house.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

It was nice to have a meal in this pub without the incessant noise and visual pollution of game machines. It was a delicious meal, with great service and lovely surroundings. The pub became packed as we finished our meal and we both commented on how well used by locals it was, and how comfy it seemed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Still a Favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have been visiting The Napoleon regularly over a number of years, staying at a friends house in Boscastle. We haven't been for about 3 years now & were a little concerned as other friends had not had the best experience on a recent visit. we needn't have worried ........ the beer is still good & the traditional [& not so traditional] food was still doing the job. On this occasion 3 of the 4 of us chose the lamb curry, which was very good & plentiful with just enough kick & the vegetable stir fry I'm told was excellent. We went on a Tuesday night when the Boscastle Buoys were performing .... similar to Port Isaacs more famous [Cornish & Sea Shanty] singers ...... great fun. A small tip do not book in the restaurant but ask for a table in the bar [better to local watch & more atmosphere ......... but be sure to book , The Nap gets very bust at times. If you happen to be parked down in the Harbour .... be prepared for a long, steep walk ........ The pint of decent ale at the end makes it worthwhile

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely food great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Called in here after looking at two other pubs in Boscastle after seeing it on the way in.most of the pubs in the area you find a table grab it then up to the bar to order,surprisingly when we checked it was table service.very pleasant staff took the order even helped move us to a bigger table as it was busy we took a little table.The staff were busy with the evening rush still the food came hot and obviously fresh.even when it came to a drinks order he apologised for the wait due to a barrel needed changing so that the other half could have his drink.Another couple sat in the area by us even inquired about a table for the following evening.altogether lovely food good service and good value definitely reccomend it.music too in the evenings.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Napoleon Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Napoleon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Napoleon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.