We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Napoleon Inn

The Napoleon Inn
High Street, Boscastle, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Post Code: PL35 0BD Tel: 01840 250 204
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Old Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely old Cornish pub, full of atmosphere ( and steps !) we were advised to reserve a table as it was a Saturday night , we booked a table in the bar area because we only wanted a bar meal. the meal we had was ok not amazing. The menu looked very nice and I`m sure had we been in the area for longer we would have gone back to sample something else, and therefore give a better review. Staff were brilliant , very attentive. Wish we lived nearer a pub like this!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    102
    18
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury,Dorset, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“friendly pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Worth the walk up to the top of the village, friendly staff, good atmosphere, enjoyable food, menu changes daily will accommodate your dietary needs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Lovely, family friendly pub with good cask ales and decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We called in early doors on our way from Port Isaac back to our holiday home in north devon. The pub is lovely and dates back to the 16th century as a coaching inn. Also its on about 4 different levels with a few steps up and down. Which I'm sure can be quite amusing after a few pints of the lovely real ale (served straight from the cask).

For dinner I had the steak pie, which although didn't look all that impressive when it arrived tasted really nice. The wife and my 2 year old daughter both had the lasagne. Which was very nice and as a childs portion was good value. The food seems like good old fashioned pub grub and its resonably priced. Would very much like it to be my local pub.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL VENUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great experiance, lovely clean and realxed family pub. The food was very good and priced well. My wife and i enjoyed a really relaxing meal amongst other diners on a Monday evening!! - Many others places were closed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Food was Ok, but had whitebait which were rather bizarrely dipped in breadcrumbs not light batter, and had been rather nuked, making them tough and tasteless. We also had sole, which was good, but let down by boring salad and oven chips

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon m, Owner at The Napoleon Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your food with us. The whitebait are bought in ready prepared and then deep fried to order as are our chips. The chips are one of the top makes you can get and most really enjoy them. If you had let us know at the time that you were not happy we would have done something to put these issues right with you. We hope you will return and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Napoleon Inn also viewed

 
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Been to The Napoleon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Napoleon Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.