We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pencarmol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boscastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pencarmol
Save
You added Pencarmol to your Saves list
The Harbour | North Cornwall, Boscastle PL35 0HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Spent two nights (three days) in Boscastle, (last week), and stayed at this truly amazing place. The hosts were genuinely wonderful, and the accommodation was both clean and comfortable. The location of the place is most definitely the highlight, as it couldn't be closer to the sea, and some truly lovely coastal walks are on your doorstep. The hosts provide an amazing breakfast, which really sets one up for the day. Nearby places such as Port Isaac and Tentagel are also worth a visit. We are certainly going again, as this is one of the best bed & breakfast places we have been to for quite some time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having trawled the internet, if you pardon the pun, for a last minute holiday... I chanced on the Pencarmol B&B. From the second I spoke to Jack on the phone to confirm my booking I felt the warmth of caring hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Having to travelled from London after finish work we arrived just before 21:00 and were warmly welcomed by Fay who showed us to our rooms and asked if we wanted anything to eat or drink. The view from our room was fantastic and drew us out to follow the path that starts from outside Pencarmol's door. We walked the path and watched the sunset over the Atlantic Ocean. We met Jack in the morning at breakfast, he was out singing with his Cornish Singers when we arrived... Jack is a real polymath and expert on all things Cornish... very interesting conversation and information.
The surrounding area is brilliant for walking the South-West coastal path, fishing, enjoying a good pint of Cornish Ale or just sitting high up on the cliffs and watching the sun set over the Atlantic. An absolutely superb holiday and we will definitely return again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We did not book and arrived at the Pencarmol doorstep wet, tired and quite dishevelled following a long and wet trek from Bude. Arrived to a warm welcome, a neat and tidy little room with a wonderful view into the harbour and a steaming cup of tea. The gracious host extended us an invitation to a night out in a friendly local pub where he and a group of men and women performed traditional Cornish songs. Certainly the most memorable pub night I have had and for good reasons only. Here is a place that has not lost the sense of community. If you are looking for a nice, unpretentious and friendly place to stay in Boscastle stay at Pencarmol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent two nights in Jack and Fays' B&B, having booked it on the recommendation of friends. What a fantastic place. Fabulous views from the windows; swimming in the harbour; glorious coastal walks. Jack is keen to share his extensive knowledge of all things Cornish. We had use of a guest lounge, sun beds in the garden and the use of fishing gear.

We were offered tailor-made breakfasts, e.g. freshly caught mackerel. The room was immaculately clean and full of character, in keeping with the history of the house. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly falling asleep to the sound of the sea and waking to the sound of birds - bliss. No problem with parking our large car. Thoroughly recommend staying here if you want a beautiful setting, in a central location for the most beautiful beaches, etc and local cuisine and ales, looked after by great hosts. Thank you for a wonderful break; we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the large room at the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great time at this family B&B, very friendly and helpful. Accommodation and views were amazing and loved the breakfast. The cliff top walk to Tintagel was a highlight, passing through Bossiney Haven, and the most beautiful beach I have been on in this country. Would definitely book again. Thank you Faye and Jack

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Pencarmol on a recent trip to Boscastle, I have to admit we are not frequent users of B and B's but on this occassion nothing else was available within our price range.
2 nights stay for a couple was £160 including breakfast, that was for the large front room. On arrival Jack the owner who is quite a character, met us, showed us to our room and then went to make us a cup of tea and a cake. The guests have their own lounge area.
I didnt inspect the room until we came back from a walk to the village, the bedding and the mattress protector were clean, although I would have liked a top sheet under the quilt. The ensuite was clean, but dont expect toiletries, there is a multi use bottle of shower gel but not something I would use. The room itself looked fine on first inspection, large, with much of the furniture in keeping with the 400 yr old house, however on closer inspection, the large day bed which sits diagonally across the room, had not been cleaned behind for a very long time, the area behind the bed was full of dust, there were old large cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and wallpaper was starting to peel in some places.
Breakfast is served in the owners dining room and all guests sit around a large table, there are a selection of cereals or yoghurt to choose from, jack and fay make your breakfast which consists of the usual toast, sausage, egg, tomato, hash brown, mushrooms and bacon. Jack asks you on arrival what you would like for breakfast he will cook pancakes but likes to make the batter the night before. The breakfast ware is the traditional cornish blue and white which is in keeping with the surroundings.
The cottage is in a great location for walking to the cliffs and overlooks the harbour. Its about a 2 minute walk from the village up a steepish hill. Car parking facilites aren't brilliant has the outside area of the cottage is quite small, we have a small car so it was ok.
Would I stay here on my own, the answer, No, I would have felt uncomfortable. Will I stay in a bed and breakfast again, taking all things into consideration the answer would be No.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home after a two night stay here. We booked all 3 rooms as six adults so had the whole place to ourselves. Jack the owner and his wife could not do enough to help us with everything they really were great. Breakfast was amazing with a wide choice and lovely hot fresh food. Bed rooms are well furnished with comfy beds and wonderful views. We would go back here in a flash.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pencarmol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarmol

Address: The Harbour | North Cornwall, Boscastle PL35 0HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pencarmol Boscastle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pencarmol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.