We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice dinner, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Manor House

The Old Manor House
The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
01840-250251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Boscastle
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really nice dinner, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had dinner for our family of five here whilst touring around North Cornwall, and we weren't disappointed - superb food (the monkfish curry was top class), nice ambience, and fantastic value at £57 for the five of us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    14
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norfolk, england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

we were on holiday not far from boscastle and thought we would book to go to this restaurant for an evening meal. Staff were quite friendly but the food was horrible. I had salmon which was very over cooked and tasteless and the vegetables which came with it tasted of nothing and were a bit soggy and watery. I would not recommend this restaurant at all. Now I know why there were only four other people in it and the restaurant just down the road was heaving.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lunch after a good walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I walked on the coastal path to Boscastle. It was a busy and sunny Saturday afternoon and as we have dogs, we needed to sit outside to have some lunch and the weather was so good, so we managed to get a table in the garden of the Old Manor House. It has a great location as you can watch the people pass by and enjoys a sunny position. I ordered the crab salad for lunch and my husband had the fish and chips-all excellent!! The food came promptly and the service was friendly and efficient. The waitress even came around with bowls of water for all the dogs in the garden. I thoroughly enjoyed the food and place and would definitely recommend a visit there!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, basic food. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Staff were great here, really helpful. Other than that it was disappointing. No music in restaurant killed any atmosphere there was. Food was poor, very basic...and weirdly priced - £5.75 for olives! Setting has great potential but I think they restaurant lacks a clear vision!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Great stop for a break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We called in here on a hot day and were glad of the umbrellas in the garden!! The service was brisk and efficient and we thoroughly enjoyed our break.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Manor House also viewed

 

Been to The Old Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.