We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Manor House

The Old Manor House
The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
01840-250251
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 14 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a lovely little pub with a very spacious garden which is dog friendly.
We took our dog who was given a fuss by the waitress which was nice. The drinks are brought to your table and are very reasonably priced.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    13
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food was not cooked. Chicken was raw and cold.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wine was not opened or chilled or poured. We were left to open ourselves and it exploded in my face and all over new dress which had to be dry cleaned. Bottle was not replaced and i was given a dirty beer towel to clean it up myself. Salmon and chicken were raw and food cold. Will never go back as there was nobody to complain to as management as well as chef were not working that saturday night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good solid restaurant and not pretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We ate in this restaurant twice during our stay in Boscastle. We found the staff to be friendly and efficient if a little rushed. The food on both occasions was very good and I consider represented good value for money.

The portion sizes are as ever in Cornwall, large but not extreme. The wine list is reasonable and not too pricey. The only small criticism I would have is that due to having wood finish floors there is quite a "hollow/echo" feel to the place, but once it fills up then this is soon damped down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very tastey in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the out side it looked somewhat arousing. We went it and instantly felt homely greeted by a happy member of staff. We were guided to our table and had the window seat. I ordered the sirloin steak which blow my pants off. My wife Geraldine had the salmon which she said was so fresh she felt like she was swimming the sea. After we finished we were told that the chefs were 2 young boys which were amazing in what they do and the evidence was there. We tipped big and left as if we watched foodporn cheers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fantastic meals and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

we are a family with teenage daughters and a little dog that accompanies us. we liked the look of this place from the outside and the fact it had a nice garden to eat in and we could take the dog made this a fantastic option. the food was very tasty and didnt take long to arrive even though the place was very full and busy and it was a sunny summers evening. I had the locally caught mackerel which was excellent... cooked to perfection and so tender that the bones just fell out.... you could almost taste the sea it was that fresh. there was also the usual pub grub fare but it was all very well cooked and very reasonably priced. my wife said the curry was lovely. another major plus point was the fact that they do take aways from here too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Manor House also viewed

 

Been to The Old Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.