We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valency B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boscastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valency B&B
Save
You added Valency B&B to your Saves list
Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I spent an idyllic 4 nights at the Valency B&B. Denise and John are very thoughtful, informative, and gracious hosts. The breakfasts were delicious. Our charming room was very comfortable, a nice size, beautifully furnished, up-to-date, and contained every helpful item imaginable. Their 5 star rating is well deserved. We are retired, non-spa, non-resort type travelers who enjoy lovely, spotless accommodations, the outdoors, quiet, reading, eating really good food and walking. All that criteria was fully met. We hated to leave.
Boscastle is the epitome of what one imagines of the Cornish coast village. The scenery is gorgeous and the sea views from the slate cliffs are spectacular

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
83
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We were welcomed after a long drive with tea on the terrace! Valency is a picturesque Cornish stone house set in the valley with just a short walk to the centre and harbour of Boscastle.
Our room was tastefully furnished to the highest standard and comfort with beautiful bedlinen and a lovely ensuite. The service we had was unparalleled with loads of information available about the surrounding area. There is also a well equipped self contained studio available which we have also stayed in and enjoyed.
Breakfast served in the conservatory was delicious with a selection of special breakfast dishes available to order, we would particularly recommend the pancakes!
Boscastle itself is a wonderful place to stay having reinvented itself since its infamous flood of 2004, the new Visitor Centre is especially worth a visit down in the harbour area as are the many good restaurants and pubs in the town.
Tip: If you feel like a trip out, the gardens of the country estate of Tapeley Park are well worth a visit (near Bideford -about an hours drive up the coast) - as seen on BBC's Country House Rescue'

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

excellent in every way.
have stayed elsewhere here and this is the best.
We stayed in the separate annexe which had all we could possibly want.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We certainly Struck Gold when we booked in at Valency for one week staying in the Blue Room. Denise and John are a lovely couple, nothing is to much trouble for them as far as their guests are concerned.
2 luxury ensuite bedrooms, and a wonderful Conservatory in which to eat their excellent breakfasts
The Valency is a 5 star B&B that we looked forward to returning to after a day out.
We would like to say a Big Thank You to Denise and John for making our stay (despite the weather) so enjoyable. WONDERFUL B&B

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Valency. What can you say but excellent, excellent, excellent. Denise and John are a great team who seem to go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. The breakfasts were wonderful, the choice amazing and all served in their beautiful conservatory. Bedrooms delightful - beds and bedding comfortable and luxurious. The weather was very bad and if it hadn't been for Denise and John's care and attention to us during the week the holiday would have been as big a wash out as the weather. Definitely deserves their five star rating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have stayed at the Valency several times since we discovered it in Spring 2008 and it now feels like our second home. Denise and John are so welcoming and hospitable with evey need catered for. The Sudio is extremely well equipped and comfortable with two lovely outside seating areas. The village of Boscastle has excellent facilities and also houses the famous Museum of Witchcraft. In my opinion you would not find a better place to stay than the Valency!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in Valency for 6 nights in May 2011. It was the best B&B we have ever stayed. The room and the whole house were very clean and tastefully arranged with an eye for details.
The breakfast was unbelievable good. Every day there were fresh fruits and products from the surrounding region served. You had the choice of a very wide range of different breakfast opportunities from full Cornish breakfast to locally smoked haddock.
The owners John and Denise are very friendly and did the best to feel you home in holiday. They gave us many informations about the surrounding area like a stunning coastal walk to Tintagel.
The garden and the patio invite you to sit there and enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valency B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valency B&B

Address: Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely eighteenth-century home, central to beautiful Boscastle, Area of Outstanding National Beauty. Stroll to the famous Harbour, scenic old village, Valency Valley or dramatic coast path. Excellent base for the West Country with Moorlands, Gardens, Heritage sites, Galleries, Rivers and Beaches all within easy reach. Choose a local restaurant, pub, Michelin graded restaurant or drive to an amazing array of venues serving Cornish cuisine. In the evening you might catch one of our glorious sunsets from the rocks at the dramatic harbour entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valency B&B Boscastle, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valency B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.