We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recomend...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Restaurant

The Riverside Restaurant
The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
01840 250216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Riverside Restaurant offers a choice of services when it comes to its restaurant. For a formal affair with the evening restaurant set-up elegantly for a superb dining experience, here you can choose from an à la carte menu with exceptional food complemented by an extensive list of fine wines. Alternatively, the daytime tearoom is perfect for informal lunches, meals and afternoon teas. Leading from the dining room is access to our exclusive tea garden next to the running waters of the River Valency.We have recently been awarded the CHEFS (Cornwall Healthy Eating and Food Safety) Silver Award. We are proud to hold the above award which means that The Riverside will be able to display the distinctive blue logo, which tells customers that it has adopted and maintains a high degree of food safety and standards, provides and promotes a selection of local foods as well as using healthier cooking methods.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not recomend...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Factually, emotions aside, the Fish pie was burnt on top, but cold in the middle, I think it had been put under the grill? The lager wasn't chilled, and upon querying, the service was rude. We could hear the conversation in the next room about the man who had said his lager wasn't chilled, when she came back out the alternative was a coke with ice in it!
The same girl was moaning on the phone to someone about the owners who had said she was in charge of the hotel that was adjoining the restaurant. When a new couple came into the restaurant to try and check in after a bit of a journey, they were "told off" for coming into the wrong door! We promptly left... this was supposed to be a relaxing holiday with my perents for their 40th Wedding anniversary, what a dissapointment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    103
    43
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great choice for our anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having tried most of the Boscastle eating establishments on our five day break I can say that the Riverside was by far the best in our opinion. Don't get me wrong, the others that we visited were okay but they were your usual "Pub Grub". Our meal was excellent as was the service. Very attentive but not overbearing and never rushed. The pricing was comparable to the others which is hard to believe when you take into account the quality of the food. Just wish we hadn't waited until our last night to go there.
Boscastle is a lovely place to visit and the people there are very friendly. Go for it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't have the soup”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went for lunch at the Riverside and were 'greeted' by unfriendly, surly waitress. We had the leek and potato soup, which was awful. Really tasteless. There was one friendly waiter who was very apologetic and agreed to replace it with another helping, but you could see that all they had done was to add some semi-cooked leeks and thickened the soup with flour and added a couple of spoonfulls of salt and pepper! Not a good experience and we still had to pay full price.

I'm sorry to have to complain, but it was not a very good experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Would we go there again? probably not.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was looking forward to a meal in this restaurant after reading good reviews, but was disappointed. We had delicious fish chowder to start. However my main course was not very good. I chose the mackerel, the fish was nice enough, but came with plain boiled potatoes and vegetables that were barely cooked. (I don't like veg that is overcooked, but these were almost raw). There was no sauce with the fish and the vegetables and potatoes were dry too. It was a struggle to eat the meal. Having said that, my partner, enjoyed his food. Uncomfortable seats and the first table we were given wobbled. Staff were nice and friendly, but we had to wait for a long time for food

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good choice for Veggies and Meaties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good vegetarian selection and a choice of lighter or more traditional meals - the cheesy spinach pancakes are my weakness :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Restaurant also viewed

Boscastle, Cornwall
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Been to The Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.