We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Restaurant

The Riverside Restaurant
The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
01840 250216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 restaurants in Boscastle
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Riverside Restaurant offers a choice of services when it comes to its restaurant. For a formal affair with the evening restaurant set-up elegantly for a superb dining experience, here you can choose from an à la carte menu with exceptional food complemented by an extensive list of fine wines. Alternatively, the daytime tearoom is perfect for informal lunches, meals and afternoon teas. Leading from the dining room is access to our exclusive tea garden next to the running waters of the River Valency.We have recently been awarded the CHEFS (Cornwall Healthy Eating and Food Safety) Silver Award. We are proud to hold the above award which means that The Riverside will be able to display the distinctive blue logo, which tells customers that it has adopted and maintains a high degree of food safety and standards, provides and promotes a selection of local foods as well as using healthier cooking methods.
Sussex
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We always visit the Riverside Restaurant when we are in Boscastle, mainly for a light lunch but also for the carvery which hold each a Sunday.
The food is very good value - anything from sandwiches to a full cooked lunch and wine or simply tea and a cake/biscuit/cream tea etc. Good coffee too.
Recommended are their hot baguettes - my favourite is the Brie and bacon (3 rashers of bacon and lots of brie so bring a good appetite!).
The Sunday Carvery is very good value at £7.95 as it includes 4 local-sourced joints of meat plus at least 8 vegetables and is truly delicious.
The staff are friendly and the restaurant is situated right next to the river so you can sit inside and enjoy the view or, if it is a lovely day, you can sit in the garden.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    240
    78
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Wilts UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at The Riverside in Boscastle and ate in the restaurant for 1 of those evenings but now regret not having eaten there on both nights and tried some more of what's on offer from the menu. The food was fantastic, as were the staff and the whole operation goes way above and beyond what I would normally expect from an establishment that markets itself as a B&B, albeit a 5 star one. The village should be very proud of this gem of a feature.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An average pub made good by the staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We didn't book and so were given a table outside. It got cold and so they moved us in as soon as a table was available. The food was tasty and reasonably priced, but nothing to write home about. We were served by five different staff who were all wonderful and clearly enjoyed working there, which made the difference. They made a good Irish coffee despite it not being on the menu. The drinks selection was disappointing (no local draught) but my pudding (brown sugar meringue) just about made up for it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Very much enjoyed the two meals we had during our 3-night stay. I would say the food was some of the best I have ever tasted. The staff were very friendly and on our second visit we sat in line with the kitchen and it was obvious the staff got along well which was reflected in the general atmosphere of the restaurant.,

We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Superb food; great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Hotel restaurants are not always a good bet but this is certainly an exception. A great choice of dishes, beautifully cooked and very tasty. Not cheap but excellent value for this quality. Good service from the firendly staff made for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.