We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b & b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort Arms

Beaufort Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gilwern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort Arms
Save
You added Beaufort Arms to your Saves list
22 Main Street | Gilwern Nr Abergavenny, Gilwern NP7 0AR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Gilwern B&B and Inns
sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great b & b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Overnight stay comfortable cosy room with modern amenities. We were a family of three and the room met our needs sufficiently. The owners Andrea and Keith were very welcoming and the pub locals friendly. A delicious full English breakfast topped off our stay.
There are also some nice walks around the area. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I arrived here after walking along the canal in the pouring rain and was made very welcome by Andrea and Keith, the owners. I enjoyed my dinner and a pint there in the evening and a pleasant chat with some of the locals, before retiring to my ultra modern. and comfortable room.
The next day I was served the biggest breakfast, I'd had in a long time which kept me going on my walk that day!
I would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Just returned after spending 2 nights at the Beaufort Arms with some friends. The rooms were clean & very comfortable, and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. The breakfast was huge - I didn´t need to eat anything else until the evening. Both evenings we spent downstairs in the pub where the food was really good and very reasonably priced. Overall a great weekend and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Beaufort Arms is essentially a local pub with a few rooms. The room we stayed in was recently refurbished. Everything was clean and comfortable and the owners very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was huge and one of the best I've had in a B & B for a long time.
The village that the hotel is in is small and you will need to travel out to some of the near by villages for a bit of night life.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

When we visited Abergavenny Food Festival Last year we could not find anywhere to stay - I just wish we'd know about this hidden gem that we have just found.
The Beaufort Arms is owned and run by Keith and Andrea Rose it's a 17th Century Coaching Inn, but it now houses 3 beautiful guest rooms with stunning original beams, among them a three person family room and two twin room – ours had a lovely en-suite shower and bathroom.
It's located just off the A465 in a small town called Gilwern which is less than 3 miles from Abergavenny - like I said, Ideal for the food festival. In the morning we had a full welsh breakfast, which really set us up for a day exploring Abergavenny and the Black Mountain region - and the best bit - £35 for a single occupancy and just £55 for double - including the substantial breakfast! The hosts are friendly and really helpful, the rooms are all beautifully modern and en-suite and it's near the canal, walks, cycles tracks castles, - pretty much everything you could need or want!

  • Liked — The rooms are all beautiful - it's a real hidden gem.
  • Disliked — The stairs to the room are the original ones - and they're pretty steep!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort Arms

Address: 22 Main Street | Gilwern Nr Abergavenny, Gilwern NP7 0AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Gilwern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gilwern
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.