We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for price paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Green Man Hotel to your Saves list
The Green Man Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dagmar Avenue, Wembley HA9 8DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Wembley
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Very good for price paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed with friend for a couple of nights. As other reviews have noted in need of TLC in terms of wallpaper, decor and finish but ratings given take in to account very cheap price for London compared with competitors. Clean, quiet and staff very friendly. Tea, coffee and even biscuits supplied. Beds also suprisingly comfortable with decent TV.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    32
    17
    33
See reviews for
19
32
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for no frills accomodation. The rooms are clean, on-suite bathroom with hot water, television and a car park (which is a must in my line of work). The staff who worked in the pub were absolutely delightful. This place has a lot of character and I would definately consider staying here again.
The only thing that I could fault were the bed frames. My mattress kept falling through the bed. In the end, I had to lean the bed base against the wall and put the mattress on the floor. I slept very well indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Dirty stained carpets peeling paint peeling wallpaper cracked bathroom tiles broken loo seat fire doors jammed open NO BREAKFAST available old mattress
in corridor need I go on? Avoid at all costs the web site pictures are wonderful but...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you want peace and quiet I wouldn't recommend you stay above a pub; having said that the floors are very very creaky so every time somebody came home, or was drunkenly trying to find their friends' rooms, it really did disturb us. For a one night stay though, at a very cheap price, not really a problem. The place is in desperate need of redecoration, the ancient 70s bathroom was - well, grotty, to be honest. On the plus side everything was as clean as it could be and the beds were comfy. There was a TV and plenty of tea/coffee, and as I say, for £49 for a night in London, I wouldn't dream of complaining. It is what it is, the pub is great and the food good too, friendly staff, very laid back. But if you want posh peach and quiet - not for you - but then again you'd have to pay a lot more for the privilege.

Room Tip: I tried to book a double online and got a twin. I didn't know until I got there, so I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Booked this through hotels.com at only £44.00 for a twin room (with a 10% discount) & stayed with my brother for a gig at Wembley Arena. How can you go wrong with a twin room, kettle, tv, en-suite bathroom & free parking for £44.00. It costs £20.00 to park at Wembley. Had a decent meal of steak & chips for £8.95, the beer is reasonably priced for London & Wembley is less than 10 minutes walk away. The rooms are not state of the art, but are perfectly adequate for a change of clothes, sleep & shower.
I would certainly book this again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Ok, so during the olympics prices for hotels soared and the Green man was a good value option. After booking before reading the trip advisor reviews, I felt rather apprehensive about what to expect. However when we arrived it wad not as bad as I expected. Yes the interior leading up to the room was shabby and dated. Yes the paint was peeling off and corridors were dark. But once in the room it wasn't too bad. Clean bedding, clean bathroon and very comfy beds awaited us. The decor like the rest was grubby and cheaply furnished, but for such a cheap price I could make do.
One very positive aspect about the Green man was the service and the food. Both were superb, the manager and staff we helpful, polite and cheerful and the food was good value and delicious. Overall not a bad stay if you don't expect too much!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The reviews we read before we booked were mainly positive, we arrived and the staff we could not fault, however, it is not as close as we were lead to believe, in fact a taxi journey was required several times and given that my boyfriend and I are in our late twenties and fairly fit not what we aimed for, the beds were falling apart, we spent the night on the floor because the boards were falling off which suffice to say was not the romantic mood setter the break was set out to be, the floorboards creaked like a hammer horror house, the doors had to be locked in a certain manner, lift and push a little way back to lock it, and the iron leaked and was covered in burn marks, all in all not a successful hotel, even the photograph is outdated. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemies!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green Man Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Man Hotel

Address: Dagmar Avenue, Wembley HA9 8DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Wembley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Wembley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Man Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The green man is a privately owned 10 bedroom hotel set in its own grounds. It is ideal for visitors to Wembley as it is only 2 min walk from Wembley stadium and arena. It also has a traditional English pub and restaurant and 1 acre garden fantastic for summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Green Man Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Man Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Man Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.