We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a base to sleep after concert” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Green Man Hotel to your Saves list
The Green Man Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dagmar Avenue, Wembley HA9 8DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Wembley
london
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It was a base to sleep after concert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst going to see Def Leppard. The pub was really nice, food lovely and staff very friendly. The most important thing was the bedding was spotlessly clean, however the room was in need of a little updating. The windowsils were rotten and every floorboard creaked. However we were here for one night, it was a good price and as said the bed was clean. I wouldn't want to stay for any longer but would stay again if going to a gig where I would not be able to get the last train home. Breakfast would have been nice though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    22
    32
    17
    33
See reviews for
19
32
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Just turned up to the hotel and currently in the room which is awful. The corridors have wallpaper hanging off, hardly any lighting in them. Our room smells like a public toilet, markings and some sort of tea stain up the wall and the two bed lamps dont even have bulbs. The bathroom has gaps round the window, peeling paint ans limescale all over the taps. We did complain to the manager but he didnt seem too fussed with his poor customer service. The only plus side I have is the bar area is nice with a good atmosphere. All in all we're totally appalled!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

found rooms very dull and tired,could do with decorating as it could be a lovely place to stay,food in pub was lovely ,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I can't comment on the rooms but we tried The Green Man Hotel as a place for a reasonable meal before going to see Lee Evans at the Wembley Arena. It is 5 mins walk from the arena and as expected a locals pub.
Saying that it was a friendly place and the staff were very good and helpful. The food was very good for the price and as pub grub goes I would say on the top end of the class. £7.50 for a sunday roast was very reasonable in London we thought. Plentiful and of good quality. I had the steak and mushroom pie (which came with lovely fat chips, peas and carrots and a jug of gravy). The pie was very tasty and seemed to be of the home made variety rather than mass produced.
They also do car parking for events and matches which seemed very reasonable.
I would definately recommend for a tasty reasonably priced lunch and the car parking !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Arrived here on a business trip. To be far I had just booked the cheapest hotel I found (won't be doing that again). Bathroom tired but ok. Room had a single and a double bed. Double collapsed when I sat on it (I'm only 11 stone!). Went downstairs for a couple of beers and some food. Fairly standard pub grub. When back upstairs, tried to close curtains to find I only had 1. No TV, so decided to read. Put desk lamp on to find it had a red bulb. Not sure if this was advertising the rooms former role so went to bed.

When I woke up I had alot of trouble finding anyone about to leave the key with. Eventy phoned someone (and woke them up) who directed me to a box to put it in.

A bit like faulty towers, possibly character building.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My friend and I used this as a base for just one nights stay in London before a charity walk. Before we arrived we were a little dubious as something so low cost in the London area usually means horrible surprises, so we weren't expecting much! YES - the corridors and rooms need updating and look extremely unloved and dated, BUT the rooms were clean, the beds were comfy and the staff were welcoming. I'm sure that if they gave the place a damn good lick of paint they could easily charge 50% to 100% more a night.

The food is reasonably priced and is good quality pub grub.

If you're heading to the Wembley area and need a stop over for a night or two - I'm sure you could do much, much worse!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This pub has lovely friendly, hospitable staff.
It's 5 mins walk from wembly stadium. 15/20 mins walk from wembley stadium tube and less than a fiver in a taxi...so the location is fab.
Yes, there are areas of the pub that are desperately in need of redecorating but the bedsheets and towels were clean, and the shower worked well.
The food was good, average pub food.
For a onenight stay after a gig/event at wembley stadium this place makes an ideal place to retreat to for a good booze.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green Man Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Man Hotel

Address: Dagmar Avenue, Wembley HA9 8DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Wembley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Wembley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Man Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The green man is a privately owned 10 bedroom hotel set in its own grounds. It is ideal for visitors to Wembley as it is only 2 min walk from Wembley stadium and arena. It also has a traditional English pub and restaurant and 1 acre garden fantastic for summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Green Man Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Man Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Man Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.