We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish it could have been perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Rest Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travelers Rest Motel to your Saves list
Travelers Rest Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3701 Old Philadelphia Pike, Intercourse, PA 17534   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Intercourse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I wish it could have been perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this old-fashioned motel. It was clean, the staff was very nice, the place is well taken care of and the room was up to date. The breakfast was more than satisfactory, and nicer than some we've had in higher priced motels or hotels. There is a clean and working waffle maker that's quick, a choice of pastries, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, biscuits with gravy, fruit and yogurt, juices, milk, coffee and teas. You're not going to get much more than that anywhere else!! The breakfast area is small, but pleasant, and staff kept everything stocked and clean. The shower in our room had a new, curved shower curtain, and something new to me - a shampoo dispenser! Great idea. The room had a small coffee maker, a mini- fridge, and a large tv.

Now, the downside. The folks in the neighboring room stayed up late and we could hear them pretty clearly. Especially their coughing. It's not the motel's fault if people are noisy, but beware the walls are not thick. Also, the beds are hard. One or the other would have been ok, but together they made me not get as much sleep as I wanted. I was worried about the traffic noise, since the road is so close and people park right outside the doors of each motel room, but this really wasn't a problem, fortunately.

The problem with any accomodations in this area, is that there tend to be groups of people staying in one room, because they are touring or, gulp, shopping! They tend to stay up late and get up early and if you're a light sleeper and in a room next to them - well, you need thicker walls. Or I guess we should have asked for an end unit.

Two other issues: the bathroom door was very creaky and so if you get up in the night to go, you wake every one up. And the rooms are non-smoking, but in the morning our room began to reek of cigarette smoke. Apparently, the folks in the room next door were smokers and smoked right outside their door or something, and it came into our room, and our car. Yuck! Maybe a designated smoking area away from the rooms.

All in all I really wanted to love this motel, but we were there mainly to sleep, so I can't give it a higher rating since I didn't get a good night's sleep. A newer pillow-top mattress and an end unit would have done the trick I think. It was worth the rate we paid, though. Maybe we should just always travel with our own mattress topper :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Manager at Travelers Rest Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We thank Michelle for taking the time to write this review. We’re so glad she discovered Travelers Rest. Still, we’re sorry her first visit wasn’t a total, five star experience. We’ve already rectified that creaky bathroom door in her room and have checked our other rooms for squeaky hinges. For Michelle’s next stay we suggest she make two special requests that should take care of her other issues. First, she would probably find one of our end rooms extra-quiet and smoke-free inside and out. We would also be happy to install foam mattress inserts for any guest who prefers a softer bed. We offer both options at no charge to any guest. Michelle, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darien,CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on our way to Philly. Room was clean and comfortable. Mini-fridge in room great for all of the produce and baked goods we purchased! My sons had a nice time playing catch and kicking a ball on the lawn. It's fun to see the horse and buggies go by. Free breakfast buffet was bagels, waffles, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, sausage gravy and biscuits.
We'll be back again! Can't beat the price!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a pleasant surprise. I didn't expect much when I arrived and say the outside of the Motel but I was extremely pleased with the room. Clean, spacious, frig, great beds. No pool but could use the one in another hotel near by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a old-school style motel where you park your car right in front of the room to your door, which is very convenient. We stayed here Sept of 2012 during a trip to see a play at the Sight and Sound Theater. We are so glad we gave this place a try. We traveled in a small group, so we had three rooms. My wife, son (early teen) and I shared one room while my parents had another and a family friend had the third. We all agreed that we love this place. Rooms are immaculately kept, as are all the common areas we were in, and the grounds in general. It is only a few mins from downtown Intercourse and the other popular areas. Rooms are neat and each had a coffee maker and fridge. We noticed that a lot of the patrons who were there during our stay seemed to be seniors, which quite frankly, we prefer. Everyone was very cordial and it makes for a quiet, relaxing environment. For the price we paid you absolutely can not do better than Traveler's Rest. We will back back.....soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Recently stayed at Travelers Rest and it was an absolute pleasure. It is located on the eastern end of Old Philadelphia Pike and is removed from the commotion of the town center, which I appreciate. Has a great continental breakfast and have a do-it-yourself waffle maker, which was delicious. They offer a complimentary bus tour, the room had a mini fridge and they offer an ice machine and soda machine, use of the swimming pool at one of their other facilites, a gazebo and lawn chairs for relaxing and watching the buggy's go by (personal favorite). The room was immaculate and the king size bed was a dream. Already making plans to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

TRM is very much the classic 50's/60's motel; everything on one level around a central court, park at the door to your room. Yes, the rooms are not large and the bathrooms are very small by contemporary standards. That said, we really enjoyed our 2-night stay. There is a lovely lawn out front with picnic tables, lounge chairs and a large gazebo, a great place to enjoy your morning coffee and listen to the Amish buggies clip-clop by. The location is very convenient, very close to downtown Intercourse, restaurants, shops, etc. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful; when my daughter got sick they helped me find an Urgentcare, when I needed a late night restaurant, they found a menu for me. Breakfast space is small but neat - the coffee was good, the pastries were outstanding - the best I've ever had in a motel breakfast. I would avoid the biscuits, which were small, dense and beyond redemption by the excellent sausage gravy. Unfortunately, we had to leave without taking the tour bus (free with your room), but at least the bus looked comfy. BTW, take a minute to look out back (thru the vending room) the view is lovely. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Travelers' Rest met all our expectations based on previous reviews. If you are a fan of motels over hotels (parking in front of your room, no noise overhead), then this is the place to stay. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. The updated air conditioners are not as noisy as other old clunkers I have experienced in other motels. You cannot beat the location, and the staff are superb! We loved the friendly breakfast hostess; you could tell she really wanted to make sure we had a nice time. The breakfast was of good quality and the selection was satisfying. You won't be disappointed with Travelers' Rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelers Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Rest Motel

Address: 3701 Old Philadelphia Pike, Intercourse, PA 17534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Intercourse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Intercourse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelers Rest Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 40 room motel is located at the edge of the picturesque village of Intercouse just minutes from farmers markets, antique shops, museums, outlet shopping and theaters. Kitchen Kettle Village and the charming shops and eateries of Intercouse are all located within walking distance.Each morning start your day with a delicous complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast featuring a variety of pastries, muffins, bagels, fruits, yogurt, hot gravy over biscuits, waffles, cold cereals, juices and hot drinks.During your stay experience the back roads and people of Lancaster County in our climate-controlled tour bus as we wind through the scenic farmlands, making several stops along the way. Our knowledgeable tour guides will tell you the history of the Amish and Mennonites as well as their traditions of schools, churches, marriages, funerals, dress and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Travelers Rest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Rest Hotel Intercourse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelers Rest Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.