We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quilter's Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Quilt Museum

The Quilt Museum
3510 Old Philadelphia Pike, Intercourse, PA 17534
800-828-8218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 things to do in Intercourse
Attraction details
Virginia
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Quilter's Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Even if you aren't a quilter, it's difficult not to appreciate the amount of work that goes into the quilts that were on display. The small size of the museum made it very manageable and not overwhelming. The display was very informative and even had some magnetic cutouts that kids (or adults) could use to design their own quilt. Some of the handmade souvenirs in the upstairs gift shop were truly one of a kind and very reasonably priced.
My only ding is that it's on a second floor that requires you to climb some steep steps. I don't know if the museum is accessible to people with limited mobility, which is a shame.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Small But Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The quilts in this museum are absolute works of art, and this is definitely worth seeing. The only thing wrong with this museum is that it's so small.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unique quilts in display for free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I know very little about quilting but I knew I wanted to see the quilt museum on the 2nd floor of the country store.

WOW! This exhibit is stunning and highlights so many styles of quilting. The quilts in the museum and downstairs for sale are all beautiful. Definitely worth a stop when you are in Intercourse.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breukelen Ut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Old Country Store is worth your visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

When you are in the neighborhood of Intercourse Pennsylvania, do stop here to shop and see the museum upstairs. It's lots of fun, colourful and keeps you busy with projects. They sell interesting jarred food too. See the pic, or better go there!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, NY 13850-1301
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a Stitch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Quilt Museum, located on the second floor of The Old Country Store in Intercourse PA, is stunning if you are a quilter or enjoy decorative arts. Quilters, let's be honest. We should all be in a 12 Step Program for quilt addiction. This museum displays a number of wonderful quilts. In addition, there are changing exhibits. When we visited, the featured quilt artist was Jo Morton, a nationally known authority on quilting. Seeing her quilts was a jaw dropping experience. Other patrons nearby said, "Can you believe this?!" Well, no we can't. We went through the displays several times to absorb the quilt designs, fabric selections and needlework. Ms. Morton's work is truly an inspiration. We are still talking about this experience a month later. AND the museum admission was free. No wonder one of the other reviews is titled "WOW." There is nothing like this anywhere around. It isn't just information; it's an inspiration. Besides, on the main floor visitors can buy quilting fabric, handmade gifts, quilts, and interesting food items. Cyril Weller, Vestal NY

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quilt Museum also viewed

Intercourse, Lancaster County
Lancaster County, PA
 
Strasburg, Lancaster County
Intercourse, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Quilt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quilt Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.